Review Copy: The Mine

19353394

**The author has sent me a copy of this book for an honest review.**

TITLE: The Mine

AUTHOR: John A. Heldt

PUB. DATE: December 6, 2013

WHERE TO BUY: Amazon, Audible, iTunes

FORMAT: E-ARC

The MineIn May 2000, Joel Smith is a cocky, adventurous young man who sees the world as his playground. But when the college senior, days from graduation, enters an abandoned Montana mine, he discovers the price of reckless curiosity. He emerges in May 1941 with a cell phone he can’t use, money he can’t spend, and little but his wits to guide his way. Stuck in the age of swing dancing and a peacetime draft, Joel begins a new life as the nation drifts toward war. With the help of his 21-year-old trailblazing grandmother and her friends, he finds his place in a world he knew only from movies and books. But when an opportunity comes to return to the present, Joel must decide whether to leave his new love in the past or choose a course that will alter their lives forever. THE MINE follows a humbled man through a critical time in history as he adjusts to new surroundings and wrestles with the knowledge of things to come.

Review: This book was pretty good!

I like historical fiction as well as time travel books, so I really enjoyed the concept of The Mine. This story takes place in the (distant) 2000s, with Joel, who is gives off a playboy aura. He finds himself in a pickle when he accidentally travels back through time and spends six months in 1941.

I haven’t read many books that took place in WWII but I really took a liking to this one. (It was informative as well as a bit educational for me 🙂.)  The book was very descriptive, and so it was very easy to imagine the setting. And it was interesting to read about small and major cities in this time frame. I liked how everything was pulled together, like a scene from a movie.

I felt as though the development of the characters was a bit lacking. I couldn’t really place Joel’s personality and attitude until much later in the book, where I finally could understand his motives. I knew he was a nice guy, and I knew what he felt, but I wanted some more background on him. I filled in pieces, but I still felt as though I didn’t know him all that much.

I did like the differing POVs. Joel’s POV is the main one, but now and then you’ll read from Grace’s or even Tom’s point of view. So I liked looking into their side of the story, and know what they were doing.

I loved the ending! It was fantastic! I don’t want to tell you more because of spoilers, but let me just say that you won’t be disappointed!

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟.25

More: Go check out the link to Hedlt’s site! And I hope y’all liked this review. If you did, give it a Like down below, and/or give me a Follow! That’s it for now, keep reading!

Follow Me

Twitter and Goodreads

8 thoughts on “Review Copy: The Mine

Add yours

  1. This book sounds very interesting, I think I’m going to have to check it out! I like the combination of historical fiction and time travel. Oh, and fun fact: I got to the part in Clockwork Prince where they talk about the Parabatai (I didn’t spell it right), and I noticed that part of the words they say is almost exactly like a passage in the book of Ruth in the Bible. I was so excited to notice! And I made a post I think you’ll enjoy. Hopefully.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s great news! I hope you like what you see when you check out the book! And I’ve never noticed that part of Clockwork Prince! Thanks for telling me, it’s really cool that what Cassie writes about parabatai (I think that’s how you spell it) is connected to Ruth! You always seem to catch those little hints, that’s amazing! 😄

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, I think I noticed because when I read the book of Ruth at one point, that one passage really struck me. It’s a testament of pure love, and I am adore that Clare used that as part of the Parabatai ceremony. She has good taste with that sort thing!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑