blogger-recognition-award.jpg

Thanks!

I’d love to thank Casey over at AdoptaBookAUS for tagging me! Sorry it took a year for me to get to it (get it?)!

RULE TIME! RULE TIME! RULE TIME!

  • Write a post to show your award
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  • Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Select other blogs you want to give the award to

The Beginning

I’ve told this story many times, but I’m telling it again for any new readers!

Originally, this blog was a school assignment.

We were covering blogs and other forms of social media. First we had to watch videos on how to create your blog, wiki, podcast, etc. (which I didn’t really need to look at now that I realize it) then create one from what you learned. The assignment wasn’t due until spring (it was winter) but we were allowed a head start.

It took a while for me to find a good blogging website that was easy to navigate. I was introduced to WordPress from a friend, and had an incredible idea to start a book blog! I was new to books (due to me neglecting to read them before) and loved the idea of reviewing them to encourage other people to read.

I learned the ropes around WordPress and blogging in general. I was having a blast and meeting new people. I didn’t want to turn in this blog for a grade because it felt too personal to give up.

I didn’t need to worry, our teacher forgot about the assignment eventually. (It was three months after all. I would’ve forgotten too if I were him.) Since I no longer associated this blog with school, I was free to take it more seriously and promote a lot of more books.

Now, I’m updating a whole lot more and plan to keep this blog up for a long time. ๐Ÿ˜€

Advice

  • Don’t be afraid to try new things! There’s so many opportunities out there, and so many new things to try out. I’ve had a lot of fun collaborating with buddy reads, and setting up reviews for ARCs! Try something that seems fun for you!
  • Connect with people! Go through your Reader and check out new blogs! There’s so many other new bloggers like you out there! I bet they’re learning just like you, so ask them for help or make friends with them!

Nominations

Tabi/Elly & Lizz/Okoto/Jamie/Ann

Follow Me

Twitterย andย Goodreads

