The Sunshine Blogger Award 6!

sunshine-award

Thank you!

I was nominated by five lovely people to do this! Five. I know right, I haven’t done one of these in forever, that’s why I have so many people tagging me.

Thank you so much to Marta @ The Book Mermaid, Kate @ MeltingPotsandOtherCalamities, Alex @ Lord of the Trekkies, Anatomy of a Book Thief, and Zezee @ Zezee with Books! Please give all of them a special visit once you’re through with this post, I’m sure they’d really appreciate it. 😉


Marta’s Questions

If you could own any fictional pet, what would you choose?

Church from the Shadowhunter Chronicles!

The Mortal Instruments News en Español: Colección de las cartas florales de la saga The Dark Artifices
Credit: Pinterest

Was he ever in the movie or the show? I don’t remember him there… That’s sad.

You can’t have a shadowhunter series without him there, it’s impossible.

What fictional character would you choose as your sidekick?

Abigail from Jackaby. She really good at observations, and better than I am at deductions. If she keeps it up, I’ll be the one that’s her sidekick, haha.

What’s your favourite genre?

For YA it’s probably historical fantasy with some mystery. For manga it’s either shoujo or horror. (I know, they’re so different.)

Which popular author haven’t you read? Do you intend to?

Haven’t read? Hmm. I need to think on this one.

Gwenda Bond
Credit: Goodreads

I haven’t read anything from Gwenda Bond. I have some of her books on my TBR, but haven’t actually started them yet.

What’s your Hogwarts house?

Okay, so I took a quiz and it said Hufflepuff, then I took it again, and I was Ravenclaw. But I feel like a Hufflepuff most of the time, so I’ll just go with Hufflepuff.

Which fictional item would you like to own and think you could not live without?

*Long sigh* So many decisions!

Ugh, I can’t think of anything! I was scrolling through a lot of books on Goodreads and nothing. The most I came up with is Yukine’s fluffy jacket from Noragami.

noragami | Tumblr
Credit: Pinterest

I just really like fluffy jackets, oh, and blankets, never forget those.

Do you write/highlight on your books?

No, never.

Have you ever damaged a borrowed book?

Not fully damaged, I hope. Maybe a scratch on a few library books, only cause I put everything in my backpack and not use a locker. (I don’t like my locker.)

What is the strangest thing you’ve used as your bookmark?

I haven’t used anything strange, I just use receipts, sticky notes, and store bought/library bookmarks.

What’s your favourite place to read?

My reclining chair because my cat likes to join me there.

What’s a book-to-movie/tv show adaptation that you actually enjoyed?

I actually liked the one for Beastly. It’s not everyone’s favorite, but I still liked it.

Zezee’s Questions

What TV show are you currently hooked on?

Voltron and The Office, I haven’t watched them in awhile because I’m so busy, but those are the two shows that I’m currently watching.

VLD fanart - Team Voltron all for one!
Credit: Pinterest
As long as you remember confidence is key on the inside… | 25 Important Life Tips We Learned From Dwight K. Schrute
Credit: Pinterest

It’s now spring, which makes me think of spring flings. Do you tend to hop from book to book before settling on one to read, or are you decisive on what your next read will be?

Oh goodness, spring?! How long did it actually take me to get to this post?! I’m so behind.

I’m more decisive nowadays, but if I do read randomly now and then too.

Are you able to listen to music while you read? Music makes me daydream, so it interrupts my reading.

Not really, it’s kind of disrupting, and I’ve learned that I retain less when I read with music. But I do listen to it and draw, or do homework.

Speaking of which, do you daydream often? If so, what are they about?

Yes, but I don’t really remember what about. 😃 Mostly scenarios though.

What odd thoughts do you often mull over?

Just a bit ago I tried to decide what cat I’d save in a zombie apocalypse. 😂

Do you have a bookish bucket list? If so, what are the top five things?

Kind of? It’s my TBR if that counts, and I don’t really have an order of things to read, but I’d love to get to Lord of Shadows sometime and ACOWAR.

What’s the most unique book you’ve ever read?

It’s not the most unique book, but My Lady Jane just because it introduced a newer kind of YA comedy that I really thought should happen more often in books.

22840421

What’s the first thing that attracts you to stories that later become favorites? For example, I’ve realized that the first thing that attracts me to stories that later become my favorites is how the author tells the story (not necessarily how they write). Those stories usually have a lot of exposition and details.

Probably the characters. I always make judgements on them first before I look into the writing and plot. I like to look at how unique the characters are from other books, and how complex their personalities are.

Do you enjoy stories that do not have a definite ending? I find them very annoying but if you do like them, I’m curious to know why.

Not really. But I do have some that I’m okay with, just because I like to imagine for myself what happens to the characters when we’re not there anymore.

Do you reread books? Why or why not?

Not really. I’ve only reread a bit of The Familiars series, Ella Enchanted, and Off the Page. I just like reading books once, and sometimes I just don’t want to revisit them, either because I already know everything, or there are parts I don’t want to relive.

Same with movies, there are some I don’t like to rewatch because there are just some parts I don’t want to see again. The only movies I’m comfortable rewatching are Marvel movies, Ghibli, Disney, The Lego Movies (like the Batman one and the first one) and movies I grew up with as a kid like The Parent Trap.

When you’re deeply engrossed in a story and happen upon an unfamiliar word, do you pause to look it up, continue reading, or make note of it but continue reading with plans to look it up when done?

If it’s a book for this blog, I usually do look up the word as I read, just to get all of the context, but for class books I don’t. (I don’t know, I’m weird I guess.)

Kate’s Questions

What is a piece of fiction (book/TV show/anime/movie/webcomic) that was difficult to get through, but ultimately worth it?

Oh gosh, hmm…

In all honest, Sherlock. I didn’t get the first episode when I watched it, like what was it, 3 or so years ago, but my friend made me watch more of it and I got hooked.

 (I watched The Blind Banker on my own, and when we watched it together I made my “predictions” as to what would happen next, and because I got them all right she was creeped out with me until I told her I had watched it already. That kind of got me into the series. A dumb reason, but still, it was funny.)

What is a plot twist that you should’ve seen coming, but didn’t?

Umm, this will spoil things for you Inuyasha fans, so skip if you want to.

Netflix has put all four of the Inuyasha movies on their Anime section and I watched the first two the weekend before this one. During the second movie, I started to rant in my head a bunch and thought that I no longer cared what happened in it because everything was practically going out the window.

So when Kagome says something around the lines of “What should I do?” when Inuyasha turns all full demon-y, I said aloud, and very sarcastically, “Why don’t you just make-out with him then? Pfft.” (Those were my exact words, I’m sorry I couldn’t censor it for this.) And she actually did it, and I just… Well, I got a little hysterical, and a bit mad at myself for suggesting anything. *Flaps hand dismissively*

I was mainly mad because it wasn’t supposed to happen yet, and that made the build-up for that moment in the series disappear. (A lot of build-up for the series was gone because of that movie, which is why I said everything was being thrown out the window at this point.)

But that movie had its art going for it, so it wasn’t really too bad. Though I still preferred the first movie over that one.

That was long, I’m sorry again.

Is there a villain or antagonist that you can’t help but call a favorite character? If so, who?

I strangely like Legend from Caraval. I think he does a pretty excellent job at being a villain and he kind of reminds me of the Mad Hatter, unlike the actual hatter that’s in the book. (That hatter wasn’t mad enough.)

27883214

What is one thing you usually dislike, but have an exception for? (Example: I usually dislike video games, but I do like…)

I have very mixed opinions on horror. I like horror games, manga, anime, and comics, but don’t like horror movies, shows, or books. It’s really strange, I’m just weird.

What is something you’ve been meaning to read or watch for forever?

I’ve been meaning to read the third book of TMI, but haven’t because I’ve been sidetracked, and am now too busy.

What is your favorite post from June?

June?! I was late for this question too! I’m sorry!

I’m pretty proud of my 500 Follower post. I haven’t done something that big before with a lot of people, and it made me really happy to see all of you giving me your answers! I had fun reading them all, and it made me extremely happy to have you guys as blogger friends!! 😀

I’m past 600 now, but I’ll probably do another one for the next milestone I get, we’ll see.

Who is your favorite character from whatever you’re currently reading or watching?

Uh, Keith from Voltron.

Keith // I don't know what this is from but I want that cup.
Credit: Elentori

I made a friend my version of Tamaki, and she’s going to get me a Keith, so it’s a win win.

If you had to choose between Netflix or Hulu, which would win?

I don’t have a Hulu, but I would prefer that over Netflix any day. They have a lot more content, and also they didn’t get rid of Black Butler, so… 😅

What is a show, anime, or webcomic that desperately needs another season?

Noragami, The Devil is a Part-Timer, Gravity Falls

I’m strangely fine how Sherlock ended, so I don’t mind if another series is made or not. A special would be nice though.

If you were given the sudden motivation to write and complete something, what genre would it be?

Fantasy. I tried doing a historical fantasy once, but it was too hard to get all the details right, so I’d just rather recreate my own world.

What are some animations and/or webcomics that you think have some of the best art?

For animation, I’d like to either say Jaiden Animations or TheOdd1sOut. Their videos are pretty entertaining, and I like the simplicity of their style.

For comics, I’d like to say Winter Woods because of it’s realistic art style.

Alex’s Questions

What is your favorite part of blogging?

Meeting different content creators! I mainly blog for me, and to remember what happens in the books I read (yes, that’s kind of what the reviews are for) but I’m so glad that you guys appreciate all of my posts, and I respect all of you for the different varieties of content you bring to your readers!

Do you like to read? Why?

Yes, there’s always something fun about going into new worlds and meeting new characters that I really enjoy.

What is your favorite song?

Uh, I don’t really have one, I listen to too many. 😃

What is your OTP?

INFERNAL DEVICES tarot cards by Cassandra Jean
Credit: Pinterest

What is your NOTP?

The High Lord of the Spring Court and Feyre[Embedded image]
Credit: Phantom Rin

Get away Tamlin.

What/Who is your spirit animal?

Anonymous said: I just realized; Chris+Aiden+Ted=CAT Answer: good job
Credit: Z-Toon

Chris is forever my spirit animal.

If you could have one famous author (living or other-wise) to write your biography, who would you choose and why?

Cassie Clare, because I’d feel she’d write about all my best quotes.

Jeopardy or Wheel of Fortune?

Jeopardy.

And “S” words became one. | 21 Times "SNL's" Celebrity Jeopardy Was Hilariously Perfect
Credit: Pinterest

Who is your favorite villain of all time?

Moriarty.

How I feel when people I don't know or don't like touch me.<- lol sooo true
Credit: Pinterest

Do you like Disney?

Yes.

17 Disney Nutella Memes Guaranteed To Make You Laugh Out Loud                                                                                                                                                                                 More
Credit: Pinterest

What is your opinion on Loki? (From The Avengers, Thor, etc.)

Hahahahaaaaaa…

Truth!
Credit: Pinterest

I think I have a problem.

Anatomy of a Book Thief’s Questions

Which author would you ask to write your biography?

As stated in my previous answer, Cassandra Clare.

Which literary character do you most identify with?

I would like to say someone awesome like Inej from Six of Crows

But let’s be honest, I’m Magnus Bane.

Bookish Identity Tag: http://olivia-savannah.blogspot.nl/2015/05/bookish-identity-tag.html
Credit: Pinterest

What is your favourite song from a musical?

I don’t remember what was the last musical I watched. I don’t really like musicals, so I don’t know any songs, I’m sorry.

What is your favourite sound?

Well, I went to the store today and wandered in the cat aisle. You know those cat toys that crinkle? I was kinda fascinated with the sound they made. 😂

What is your favourite book title and why?

I don’t really have a favorite book title. But I do like those one worded book titles for some odd reason.

Which (if any) book series have you DNFd?

Quite a few actually. I try not to DNF books, but there are some exceptions now and then. (Kike the books I only got to read excepts of, which make up most of my DNF shelf.)

Some I’ve DNFed because I wasn’t into them are Precious Blood, Unnatural Creatures, and Compulsion.

If you could go back and get your younger self (at any age) to read any book, which book would it be and why?

Probably the HP books, because I was deprived of them when I was a kid.

I really didn’t like books back then though, so it would be hard to convince tinier me to read anything at all.

Are there any adaptions you like more than the original book?

Not really? I mean, I just prefer the source material because I know it’s canon. Not that the movie isn’t, but the books are more accepted because they’re the originals.

But I did like The Martian almost better than the book, it was pretty good.

If your life up to now was made into a film, what song would play during the end credits?

Any meme song, preferably “All Star” by Smash Mouth, because why not?

Are you looking forward to Christmas yet?

Yes.

this is so cute and you're laughing and then the cat shreds you with her claws. and still you're laughing because this is still so freaking funny.
Credit: Pinterest

Which one book do you think everyone should read at least once in their lifetime?

23395680

Even if you’re not a big reader, I think this would be great for you all.


I Tag

THIS IS A FREE TAG! Half because I’m lazy, the other half is that this is my sixth time doing this award, and I’ve run out of people to tag who are new to this.

Follow Me

Twitter and Goodreads

23 thoughts on “The Sunshine Blogger Award 6!

Add yours

  1. I can’t listen to music when I’m reading either! I always end up singing along and lose track of what I’m reading 😦
    I’m going to have to read Illuminae soon…
    Great answers! They were fun to read 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Church is adorable, haha. And strangely, I can listen to music when I read, but only if it’s soundtrack/background music without lyrics. Voices as instruments are fine, but if it has lyrics, I can’t do it.

    Is it bad that the first episode of Sherlock was my last, before season 3 at least? My parents assumed I had watched it with them and we watched the Blind Banker, though I kept saying, “shouldn’t we watch the first episode?” Ha.

    How’d you enjoy Caraval?

    I really enjoy Hulu, they have more anime and TV series I watch/want to watch. But then again, Netflix has Broadchurch and Stranger Things, so that makes things difficult.

    And it’s okay! You’re not too late with this post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He’s probably my favorite YA cat. 😸 I tried doing that, but I still get distracted by the music. 😅
      Haha, it’s probably fine, if you weren’t confused during the Blind Banker that is.
      And it’s good so far. I hadn’t read it in a few days because I was swamped with homework and extra activities, but I’ll continue it soon.
      And I would prefer Hulu, but it doesn’t have Voltron. I haven’t seen Stranger Things (even though I know I should) or Broadchurch, but I feel you pain.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah. That makes sense.
        No, I understood everything pretty fast, I just didn’t understand why we had skipped the first episode, lol 😅
        That makes sense! I’ve heard very mixed reviews, so I’ve been hesitant to pick it up.
        Ah, what is Voltron even about? I’ve heard a lot about it. You should check out both Stranger Things and Broadchurch, they’re really good.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Then that’s good. I watched them in order, but it would be difficult for sure if you skipped The Reichenbach Fall and started S3. 😂
        I’ve heard mixed reviews too, but I really enjoyed it! So if you start it (cough cough hint hint) I hope you like it!
        Voltron Legendary Defenders is a reboot of the old version, I know that because my mom used to watch that version when she was my age. 😄 It’s about 5 paladins who are in control of lions that form into one of the universe’s most legendary figures when combined, Voltron. They fight against the Galra who is trying to steal the lions for evil purposes. (The first episode is super long, and incredibly fast paced, but it evens out later on.)

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Oh gosh, that would be terrible 😂
        Hmm, I’ll put Caraval on my TBR then! The premise sounds interesting.
        Huh, I may have to look into Voltron too. And it seems super long first episodes and shorter later episodes are popular now (that’s what happened with my latest anime series)

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Haha, I know right! You’d be so confused as to why John would punch Sherlock in the face. 😂
        Yay! I hope you like it! The premise interested me but the cover is what really drew me in. 😄
        I hope you like Voltron too! And I never knew of that trend, I’ve only seen it in Voltron, I think.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Besides, you’d get totally spoiled about everything 😂
        The cover is really pretty! I just thought it sounded like a good mix of fantasy and mystery.
        I haven’t seen the trend much myself, but with this and my last show, I think it may be something that’s catching on.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Exactly! Like with Moriarty.
        It is really pretty! I know of two different versions, and I love them both!! It has a pretty good mystery, it’s pretty much the whole plot. But the fantasy in there is heavily incorporated too!
        I know of movies becoming shows, that is starting to happen more often too. And I sometimes like long-running pilots, it makes the pacing better sometimes.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Haha! I totally know how that is. I’m using this week to catch up on things I was tagged for too.
    Hardly any rereads or rewatches! I find that most interesting.
    And that’s funny that you look up unfamiliar words for books you read for your blog but not the ones read for class.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I’m so behind as it is, I probably need a month to catch up on all the tags I have stored in my drafts.
      Haha, really? I understand though, I’m the only one that I know of that doesn’t like to reread or rewatch things. 😅
      I need to remedy that! I should at least try to look up the words for the books I use for class. 😬

      Like

  4. Thanks for answering, I loved your answers! 😀
    I love Church, an adaptation without him is not a good one 😛 I don’t think I’ve seen him in the movie or, if I have, I completely forgot. I think he appeared on the tv show, but not where he was supposed to xD
    * shadowhunters spoilers ahead * Do you remember that episode when they went to an “alternate” universe, and Magnus didn’t remember he could do magic? he had cats, I think they were chairman meow and church :/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No problem! And I agree, it’s not a shadowhunter adaptation without him! 😀 No I have not seen that one, I’ve only seen the first two episodes of the series. But I like that theory! I’m glad that he and Chairman Meow was possibly on the show!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

