Review Copy: Ewan Pendle and the White Wraith

35422555

**I have been given a copy of this book by the author in exchange for an honest review.**

TITLEEwan Pendle and the White Wraith

AUTHOR: Shaun Hume

PUB. DATE: October 31, 2012 (Original)

WHERE TO BUYAmazon

FORMAT: E-ARC (PDF)

Ewan Pendle and the White Wraith“An antidote to Post-Potter Depression!” – Independent Reviewer 

” … Hume does a MAGNIFICENT job of building a completely different world … ” – Fire and Rain Books

“Hume has a beautiful writing style that creates a WHOLE NEW WORLD, one which leaps off the pages!” – artisticbent.org

Ewan Pendle was weird. Really weird. At least, that’s what everyone told him. Then again, being able to see monsters that no one else could wasn’t exactly normal …

Thinking he has been moved off to live with his eleventh foster family, Ewan is instead told he is a Lenitnes, one of an ancient race of peoples who can alone see the real ‘Creatures’ which inhabit the earth. He is taken in by Enola, the mysterious sword carrying Grand Master of Firedrake Lyceum, a labyrinth of halls and rooms in the middle of London where other children, just like Ewan, go to learn the ways of the Creatures.

MORE PRAISE for Ewan Pendle … 

“If you’re suffering from HARRY POTTER withdrawals, then look no further! This detailed, intriguing and touching story is the answer!” – Independent Reviewer (Credit: Goodreads)

Review: This was such a great read!

Already when I started reading it, I knew it was going to be good because of the writing style. This book was very descriptive and contained lots of neat analogies that helped me envision the world a little clearer. Sometimes, I admit, it would be too descriptive, but it made the world come to life, and I appreciate the effort it took into planning and imagining the whole Lenitnes world.

I’d wouldn’t really classify this novel strictly for middle grade readers. Yes, the characters are centered around children who are 11 to 12 years of age, but the story is enjoyable for any age group, and may even contain parts of plot for older audiences to understand. However, I’m not saying it doesn’t seem like a middle grade novel, it has the same lightheartedness and moral building that middle grade books seem to have.

An example I found is a quote (I don’t really share quotes in reviews, but I had to share this one) that I really liked, and believed a lot of people could take away from:

‘If you do not believe in yourself, Ewan, then you will surely not succeed. Pity in ones own downfalls without the sight to rejoice in your strengths is truly the road to ruin. But if you do decide to pat your own back a little more often, then you will find that you are not the only one who believes it a worthwhile exercise. And there will always be those there to do it for you in times when you may not quite be able to reach.’

It gives good advice to the character as well as the reader, and can be turned into something that relates well to that audience member’s life. I could find many meanings for this quote if I tried to compare it to myself, and could have many uses for it. Sometimes quotes like this are found in many other genres of books, but I love how middle grade books like to give examples of good advice from time to time.

The characters are all really cute though. Sometimes they made me smile, and sometimes they didn’t, but a lot of them (especially the reoccurring/main ones) were fun to read. My favorite ended up being Mathilde. I always had fun whenever I read her manner of speech. (She says “Dude” a lot, which resembles me a lot, because I always refer to people as dude.) (I don’t know why, I just do.) I also liked Enid for her fighting spirit.

I liked Ewan more towards the beginning, but felt fickle about him now and then during the middle. However I liked him a lot more again towards the end, so he kind of redeemed himself.

During the middle of the story I thought, “Oh no, there are a lot of new elements being added, will there be any loose ends?” Because I started seeing some secrets other characters were keeping, some new characters added into the mix, and even some creatures, so I thought that not everything will be concluded, and had to read book two. However, nearing towards the end, everything concluded itself and there weren’t any loose characters or plot devices that were left out, so I was happy. (There was one thing that wasn’t clarified much a bit after the climax, but I can let my brain imagine what happened.)

Overall, I really liked this book. It did take me a long to to finish, I read a few chapters a night and limited my reading, so I guess that played a hand in it. But I had fun reading it and being emerged into the story, and I hope you do too.

Rating: ❄❄❄❄

More: Thank you for reading! I hope you’ll read the book. The sequel is put on hold at the moment, but the process of making it will go faster if you’re aware of the book and share it with others! Please do share and read, I’d love for a sequel to be made, and I bet a lot of other readers do too. If you liked this review, then please click that Like and/or Follow button on the bottom of my site! Check out the author’s website with the link above. (Sorry, the Goodreads one was the only one that worked.) I’ll swing back again later, bye everyone!


Follow Me

Twitter and Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Review Copy: Ewan Pendle and the White Wraith

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

