Hello!

Ack! I know! I’ve been posting She Games posts too close together. I assure you, I’ll try to even them out later on. This will be the last She Games post for awhile. (Sad I know, lemme cry with you.) I don’t really plan these sorts of posts, I just write them on a whim for whatever game pops into my mind that I should play. I do enjoy making these though, I’ll certainly write more in the future.

But enough with all those announcements, I’ve got a game I need to discuss about!

Mystic Messenger

Image result for mystic messenger

DeveloperCheritz

StoreiTunes, Google Play

Version1.7.8a (updated yesterday for Android)

CostFree with in-app purchases

GenreOtome, Simulation

AboutYou were looking for an app, just to kill some time, and stumbled upon an app called “Mystic Messenger”. It sounded interesting so you downloaded it.

Once you opened it, you found yourself chatting with someone nicknamed “Unknown”. They persuaded you to go to some studio apartment.

As soon as you walked into to the apartment, your app is suddenly connected to a mystic group chat with attractive guys!? After a long chat, they ask you to join their secret party planning association called RFA… (Credit: Fandom Wikia)


I’ve put the information down from last time, just in case you weren’t here for my first post on MM.

How It Went

Image result for mystic messenger
Credit Google Images

I thought it’d make things easier if I put down my gamer stats. 🙂

Route: Jaehee’s Route

Ending: Good Ending

Guests: 28-31 (I can’t remember)

Days Completed: 11

Story Type: Casual

Yay! I got the good ending! That means that you are able to unlock the After Ending (which I won’t do yet) for 20 hourglasses.

After I played the first round, Deep Story was available for me to unlock, so I’ll proceed to do Seven’s route. I know that I said I probably wasn’t going to play this game for a second route, but I realized towards the end how much summer I had left (exactly 11 days) and decided to spend those days going through, what is supposed to be, the route with the most spoilers: Seven’s.

I’ll go over the rest of the routes some other time, but I’m going to be a bit busy soon, so I chose to go to the route that’s supposed to conclude the game. I won’t write about my progress with MM any more, this is it, but I did have fun sharing with you about this game, and if you ever want to know how it goes with any of the other routes I will play, you can always ask. 😀

To get the good ending of any route, all you need is to collect more hearts from the character you choose than the others (by supporting them whenever you can), getting 10 or more guests to agree to go to the party, and spending a reasonable amount of time participating in the chats. For Jaehee’s route specifically, I had to support her decision about her job, make her be the one to visit Zen (if you don’t then get you’ll get one of the bad endings straight away), avoid making her overwork, and avoid siding with Jumin.

I had a lot of fun with Jaehee’s route, and it seems that a lot of other players who chose her route first can agree.

I did actually take screenshots this time. The reason why: all of the 4th wall breaking. 😂 I knew this was coming, but I just didn’t know how often it would happen. The only character in Jaehee’s route who didn’t break the 4th wall was Yoosung. Zen does it during the first four days (I think), and Jumin, Jaehee, and Seven do it later on as you play.

I kind of put these in order from the most subtle to the most obvious (in my opinion).


This one was during a call from Jaehee.

See? She’s aware she’s in a phone app.

The next one I saw from Jaehee almost made me laugh outright. I forgot how late it was when I took this photo, it was around one of the 1 o’clock-3 o’clock ones.

And I was really tired when I read this too.

Seven, though. He’s the king when it comes to these.

And yes, I chose the unicorn.

This one is my favorite out of all of these photos because of how well-timed it was.

Lastly, Seven is at it again, but this time via phone call.


Final Word

Originally, I didn’t think this game was worth the hype. I was looking forward to trying it out, but was wary that I wouldn’t like it.

I’m glad to say that I had a lot of fun. Yes, I lost sleep and, probably, my sanity, but this game really did end up surprising me and I’m happy that I chose to play it.

I watched another Let’s Play of a different otome game, just to see how similar or not MM was to “regular” otome games. The other game (I can’t remember the name, sorry) wasn’t bad, per se, just a bit flat with characters and stories. It was too obvious how much the love interest in the game was trying to make the MC like him that I kind of quit watching altogether. 😅

Yes, MM may look like a “traditional” otome game on the outside, but it has a lot of different layers to it, and even if it’s sometimes obvious that there’s supposed to be a love interest (*angrily looks at Zen*) (<He makes it too obvious) by just having a route to choose, it wasn’t all focused along those lines of what makes the “traditional” otome game. If you play it, you’ll find more character building, plot development, mystery, and gameplay than other types of simulation games.

I’m not bashing otome games, or anyone who plays it. I’m simply saying that MM was a different experience than what I expected. I’m glad for its difference, and that a lot of people who play or don’t play otome games can still find this very enjoyable.

So the question is: Does it live up to the hype?

Yes and no.

Yes, meaning that it’s certainly a game to revere from time to time. Heck, even I admit to scrolling around, looking for some game info, fanart (like that one you saw at the beginning), and funny chats. I do have to thank the hype after all, for making me steer towards downloading the game. Without it, I don’t think it would have.

No, meaning there are still some posts out there that are just too much. This goes for a lot of fandoms, because they all have some posts that aren’t always a fan favorite. MM still isn’t the exception, but sometimes you can just read through those cringey post for kicks.

However, the rest is up to you. Play the game all the way through at least once to decide if you think it’s overhyped or not. At first, I thought it was, but that’s before I got the chance to play it and compare it to other games. Now I kind of welcome it all. 🙂


UPDATE: 1.7.8a

Uhhhhhh…. so…. ummm…. the game updated several hours after I wrote this. The interface is different, and it’s more sleek and “sci-fi”-like. There’s a new story other than Deep and Casual, so that’s pretty cool. And also your own character profile.

More information on the update shall be here.

However, due to circumstances of, I’m not really sure, bugs in the game, I’m not able to open up a new story at this time. (I’m not the only one with this problem, see the link I provided and scroll thru the Notes.) So Seven’s route will probably be on a long hold until this is somehow fixed. (Also my hearts disappeared mysteriously. *shrugs*)

I replied via Tumblr about the bugs, so I hope that it’ll be fixed soon. 🙂

UPDATE (7-20-17)

All the previous bugs in the game are now fixed for those of you who were wondering. 🙂


So tell me in the comments below! Have you played the game? Will you plan on playing it? If not, are you going to watch any Let’s Plays. (There’s a few, but they mostly just go over the prologue.)

Thank you so much for sticking around! This concludes She Games: Mystic Messenger!

Follow Me

Twitter and Goodreads

