She Games: Persona 5—The Game That’s Strangely Addictive

Hello

I’m back with another post episode of She Games and today I have a game that I’d love to talk, rage, rant, and fangirl about. (Really all my She Games posts are a mix of ranting and fangirling, so it’s nothing you haven’t seen before, but this is another game to showcase, so it’ll probably be different.)

First I’d like to thank a friend for forcing allowing me to play this game. I don’t own it, nor do I have the game console to play it. But I’m really grateful that I got a chance to see what it was about, even for a day.

Now I haven’t played far, I’ve only gone through the first boss fight, but I think I played enough of the game to write a sufficient post about it, so here I am, explaining to you about my experience.

Persona 5

Trailer

Background

Persona 5 (Playstation 4 & 3) Buy @ http://www.gamestop.com/ps4/games/persona-5-steelbook-launch-edition/131356

Developers: Atlus, P Studio

Rating: Mature

Available On: PS3, PS4

Genre: RPG

AboutPersona 5 is a game about the internal and external conflicts of a group of troubled high school students – the protagonist and a collection of compatriots he meets in the game’s story – who live dual lives as Phantom Thieves. They have the typically ordinary day-to-day of a Tokyo high schooler: attending class, after-school activities, and part-time jobs. But they also undertake fantastical adventures by using otherworldly powers to enter the hearts of people. Their power comes from the Persona, the Jungian concept of the “self”; the game’s heroes realize that society forces people to wear masks to protect their inner vulnerabilities, and by literally ripping off their protective mask and confronting their inner selves do the heroes awaken their inner power, and using it to help those in need. Ultimately, the group of Phantom Thieves seeks to change their day-to-day world to match their perception and see through the masks modern society wears. (Credit: PlayStation)

Gameplay So Far

I don’t really need to give you a rundown of all the information this time. In the game, there’s a bunch of tutorials and helpful hints, so really, you don’t need me to explain anything extra. Not only that, but I haven’t played it long, so really the only thing I know are Social Stats and characters (which I still don’t know a lot of).

I thought it was unfair to put a character list in this post, because I haven’t met all them yet, but I decided to do it anyway, for the views’ sake. I’ll give personal descriptions of the ones I have met, and give you a list of characters (with photos) that I haven’t.

But first, I’d like to explain the game a bit more than what’s given to you in the description above.

About

This is hard explaining without spoiling, so mild spoilers about the intro are included.

First, the game will start off with a chase scene. Pretty basic stuff. However, since the tutorials come a little later (take a wild guess: 6 cutscenes later) (this is just a guess, I don’t really know the number) you just have to go with what the controls are telling you to do until the prologue episode/cutscenes are all done.

As you play the rest of the game, you’re currently playing as Akira (you can name him, but let’s call him by his canon name for now) in the past. Every now and then, you’ll have to watch the breaks back into the present day, but they’re extremely short, so if you’re itching to battle some personas, you don’t have to wait too long.

Here’s were small spoilers come in, feel free to skip.

When Akira recalls his memories, you start to learn about the situation he gets in. He rescues a woman off the street from a man, however this resulted in the man suing Akira which earned Akira a criminal record. His school learned of this and kicked him out, and his parents agreed it was best for him to go away for awhile. Akira starts to live in a messy room of a coffee shop owner, who agreed (and was not really happy about it) to take him in. Akira transfers to a new academy, where he meets some of his Phantom Thieving team and discovers the cognitive world.

The cognitive world is like a mirror realm. (That’s what I’d explain it as.) It shows the distorted hearts of others, and their true desires. What happens there doesn’t effect reality, however it can have an effect on host depending what happens to their “Palace”.

Characters

I’m refraining from revealing any of their code names. 🙂

Akira

Akira Kurusu Persona 5
Credit: Pinterest

Akira is just his canon name, in the game you can give him whatever name you like.

I summed him up pretty well in that short little spoiler paragraph, so there’s not much else for me to tell you about him.

He’s the first to learn of his persona, and can switch out the personas he has in battle (but I learned that all the Persona MCs can do this, so it’s just a shared skill of his with the other MCs).

Other things… His voice actor only speaks once in the game, the rest is your choice of dialogue.

That’s really all I can say without giving away too much, that and I don’t really know much more other than that he’s supposedly the gentlemanly trope and that he’s a second year in high school in Japan.

Ryuji Sakamoto

Persona 5 Skull
Credit: Pinterest

Ryuji is also a second year (I’m pretty sure) who likes to push the plot a little. He’s the one who gets Akira to go into the first palace, thus helping Akira learn about his persona.

He’s sometimes a goofball, and doesn’t always have the best ideas, but he’s a nice guy overall and helps Akira out. (More like Akira helps him.)

He used to love running, and would sometimes have Akira go on a run with him (because we need those confidant levels). There’s a reason as to why he’s stopped, and it’s kind of sad, but I won’t tell you because it’s one of the spoilers of the game.

I don’t have much else to say except that he likes to eat. Meat preferably.

Also he texts during class a lot when he should be paying attention, but who am I to judge because his texts are actually relevant to the plot.

Morgana

The Persona 5 red still burns my eyes but I love it so it felt necessary to include it here. This is my most anticipated game for this year! What are you looking most forward to? Let’s have a great 2017 everyone! /Conrad
Credit: Pinterest

Morgana is one of the persona users that Akira and Sakamoto meet at the first palace. He may look like a cat, but don’t call him one to his face.

He’s searching for his “true form” however he doesn’t remember what that form is, so he needs help, and that’s where Akira and his gang comes in.

I didn’t realize he was wearing a mask until I saw the buckle on the back of his head.

Ann Takamaki

[Persona 5] Ann Takamaki - Panther by yuuike.deviantart.com on @DeviantArt - More at https://pinterest.com/supergirlsart
Credit: @Yuuike
You see Ann during the beginning, in fact, you meet her a few seconds before Sakamoto. I can’t tell you too much about her, it’s to hard because I’d also be spoiling the story. (She’s that wrapped up in the plot.)

Though I could tell you that she has a best friend named Shiho, and that she’ll go to a lot of lengths for her.

She doesn’t have many friends, so that is why Shiho probably means so much to her. But now she’s part of Akira’s team, so her number of friends is increasing.

 

(The rest I have not met yet.)

Yusuke Kitagawa

Persona 5 || #anime
Credit: Pinterest

All I know is that he’s an artist and loves lobsters, that’s it.

Makoto Niijima

Persona
Credit: Pinterest

Futaba Sakura

Persona 5 Futaba Sakura
Credit: Pinterest

Haru Okumura

Artist: KR0NPR1NZ | Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 5 | Okumura Haru
Credit: Pinterest

Goro Akechi

Aketchi
Credit: Pinterest

(Sort of) Review

Music

4/5

I actually really liked the soundtrack. It’s just so jazzy, how can you not? And there’s around 110 or so songs/reprises on the original soundtrack.

Whenever you grind, it’s not intense fighting music you hear, just jazz. I can’t help but love it, I think it’s really creative.

Also not to hate on intense/ominous music or anything, but there’s just something peppy about this soundtrack, that whenever you fight you don’t feel intimidated that it’s a fight scene and that you could possibly loose, but you feel excited. I don’t know, the music made me feel that way, and I had fun with all the grind scenes because of it. (Because you can also sing along! There are lyrics!)

I don’t know why I’m so happy that there are lyrics, I just am. There’s the fangirling I promised earlier.

A good example of one of the songs I enjoy can be found here.

Story

4.25/5

I really liked the story. I haven’t played the other Persona games, so I don’t know how similar or non similar the story is compared to all of them, but I’m pretty sure they’re not all the same. (Prove me wrong, people in comments.)

I don’t really have any complaints about the story whatsoever, maybe some characters, but not the story itself. However there are triggers, be aware of that, it’s blatantly in the rating above in the trailer, so make sure to look at that. I’m sure this game is not for everyone, and the triggers sure made me cringe on the inside, but from aside that, the game wasn’t too bad.

Story Vs Gameplay

4.5/5

The reason I like playing/watching RPGs so much is because there’s always a nice balance of story (mostly cutscenes) and actually playing. The majority is probably grinding to level up all your personas, but you still learn bits of plot from conversations you can listen in on or just by the flow of how the game if going.

Characters

4/5

This is mainly for the main cast, not so much as the antags (who make you want to throw pillows at the TV, which I got to do 😅).

Each character has their different tropes about them. And a lot of them have sad backstories that make you love them a little more.

Some characters I do have mixed feelings about, like Sakura, Kawakami, and Takemi (some are just obvious because of how they treat some of the main cast) but beside from them and a few others, I didn’t have a problem with any of the other characters that appear like Shiho and Mishima.

Art & Graphics

4/5

The graphics of the game aren’t obviously the highest quality, but I got used to all the CGI and eventually it started to grow on me. Little things like the floor rippling when you walk, or the pink color left behind when stepping on water (I think it was water) was questionable at first but I started to enjoy them once I was seeing them more. I also really liked the transitions between going to other areas in the game/whenever it loaded.

The art in the cutscenes is regular 2D animation. I didn’t spend too much time analyzing them, but I really enjoyed watching them, and the looking at the art (which was your typical anime art style).

Anything Else?

Not really, I think I discussed everything I wanted to say.

I really enjoyed this game. I became addicted to it after I played it and hope to one day play it again and finish it through.


Thank you! That’s all for now, I hope to see you at the next She Games!

Follow Me

Twitter and Goodreads

5 thoughts on “She Games: Persona 5—The Game That’s Strangely Addictive

Add yours

  1. I think this is also an anime and/or manga, but maybe that’s just Persona 3 or 4? I’m not educated on this. But I’ve found the idea interesting for a while, I’d just rather watch it because I don’t have the gaming equipment available to play it, haha.

    Like

    1. I don’t either, that’s why my friend forced the game on me. 😅 If I owned a PS4, I’d probably be playing the game nonstop. There is an episode for Persona 5, but it’s only just one episode. There are movies for the 3rd, the second one is on Netlix; I watched it after I played the game but was still vaguely confused. And both 3 and 4 have a manga out. 5 has an anthology thing, but it’s not available locally, or so I was told. But watching it would be good, I think you will still be able to get a good gist of the game from the anime movies/shows.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. When you have the time to play it, I hope you enjoy it! It has some feels in it, I think you might like it. 😀 I’m glad that you’re getting used to it too, it took a while for me to figure everything out (I had some help from a friend who played the game).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

