Hello!

I am here with a special post! 😄

As you’ve read from the title, this is an interview featuring one of my spotlight artists. (Click here for my last post on Elentori. 🙂)

Elentori✨
Credit: @Elentori

Elentori’s a game developer over at Multivarious, and is currently working on a game called No Mercy. In her spare time she dedicates herself to her fanart, and has streams every Wednesday and Friday over on Twitch. She posts her art all over her social media sites, and also on her Patreon.

She’ll also be at IndyPop Con this year. If any of you are going, you may get a chance to meet her. 🙂

Now, enough introductions, let’s get on with this post!

The Interview

When did you decide to take art seriously, and what reasons made you decide on taking art in the first place?

I don’t think I started seriously considering art as a career until it was time to choose my major going into college. I’d always enjoyed art but it was mainly just me working with pencil on the back of school papers for a long time. In college, I decided I wanted to learn digital and see what I could do. Creating art has always been my favorite thing to do, so I want to keep doing it for as long as I can.

Do you pull inspiration from other artists, and if so, which artist have inspired you the most?

Of course! I think every artist has other artists they admire and pull inspiration from. Off the top of my head, I really admire Loish and Star Bite as artists. I would say Loish is probably my single biggest inspiration in life, I found her art when I was very young and she’s probably the reason I’m so fascinated by color.

You focus on a lot of fanart. Besides the Klance ship, what other fandoms or ships do you current love to draw?

I do a lot of fan art in my spare time because it relaxes me, since I spend so much of my other time drawing for work. Outside of Voltron, I’m also enjoying drawing for Hunter x Hunter now, but that’s a newer fandom I’m into so I haven’t posted anything for it yet!

What made you decide on focusing on digital art instead of other outlets?

As opposed to other types of art? It’s the industry standard for concept art and offers the most flexibility for what I enjoy doing. I like animation and color and the ability to create these huge virtual images I can then turn into merchandise later. That being said, I think I find pencil sketching the most relaxing thing to do. I like the end products of digital art but enjoy starting in pencil.

What’s it like to be an illustrator for the game No Mercy? And is there anything else that’s exciting you about it’s development?

No Mercy is literally all my OCs and ideas, so it’s fantastic. It IS work and can be kinda tedious doing all the art for one game, but it’s enjoyable work and it’s very nice being the overall lead on artistic vision. The most exciting thing is just seeing the game come together and how excited everyone is about it honestly. It’s nice making things for other people to enjoy.

You love to draw plants, is there anything else you love to incorporate into your work? (Besides Keith’s gloves. 😊)

Lately, I’ve really fallen in love with plants, I really like the smooth flowing organic shapes in general. I’m also fond of stars and water and other flowing pretty things.

Do you spontaneously draw what’s on your mind, or is there a process for coming up with your ideas?

Depends, I most enjoy just turning on music and drawing whatever comes to mind. But more often I have ideas just randomly pop into my head all day so I have a sketchbook where I write ideas down and quickly scribble out concepts. Then later I can decide if I still want to do the picture or not. I am constantly daydreaming so I’m never really at a shortage of ideas to draw, it’s more getting in the right mood to want to draw them.

Do you have any tips for Paint Tool Sai/Photoshop users?

The internet is a wealth of information, I was able to teach myself both through determination, online videos, and years of practice. Don’t tell yourself you can’t do something because you don’t know how, figure out how.

You play a lot of meme songs on your stream, which ones are your favorite?

Ironically most of the meme songs I play in stream are songs I already liked before they became memes. My current favorite is probably Shooting Stars.

What three things do you have to have with you when you draw?

I’m going to assume that a computer or sketchpad are obvious answers. The single most important thing is music, music is a huge part of both my inspiration for pieces and helping me focus. Other than that, my little sketchbook and a mechanical pencil I carry with me at all times.

How did you get your cat Nyx? 🙂

I actually found her through a friend of a friend on facebook who was looking for a home for her, she was found in a dumpster on OSU campus when she was about 2 months old and none of the college kids could keep her, so I did 🙂

Who is your favorite character to draw?

Probably Lance, because his element is space and water and he’s very easy to aesthetically work into pieces. I personally relate more to Keith though, he’s also fun to draw.

Who is your hardest character to draw?

Anyone super muscular because it’s just not something I’ve taken the time to practice much yet. That’ll change though! It’s important to keep learning new things no matter how much you already know.

You’ve recently been getting into Hunter x Hunter, are there any other anime shows that you absolutely recommend?

One Piece is my absolute favorite anime, but that’s quite the undertaking. Fullmetal Alchemist was my first anime ever and will always hold a special place in my heart. Right now boku no hero academia is pretty popular and I checked it out and would definitely recommend that too. 

Do you have any advice for any aspiring artists out there?

The difference between a master and a novice is that a master has tried and failed more times than the novice has even tried.

Google is your friend, art supplies don’t make the artist, just grab a pencil and some spite and go for it. Most importantly, HAVE FUN.

I had a lot of fun making this post, and coming up with questions. I want to thank Ele for allowing me to have the opportunity to talk with her. I hope a lot of you got something out of this post, it’s definitely one of my favorites. 🙂

Thank you so much for reading! Like and Follow if you want more posts like this in the future. I’ll need to do my research, but I’d be glad to do more interviews later on! I’ll swing back later, bye!


Follow Me

Twitter and Goodreads

