33825562

**I have been able to receive a copy of this comic through Edelweiss.**

TITLE: Mer

AUTHOR: Joelle Sellner and Abby Boeh

PUB. DATE: April 19, 2017

WHERE TO BUY: Amazon, Barns & Noble

FORMAT: E-Copy

MerTwilight meets the legend of Atlantis in this gripping graphic novel from writer Joelle Sellner and artist Abby Boeh. After the death of her beloved mother, Aryn’s father has moved her family to a new town hoping for a fresh start. At first things seem to be going well—Aryn is making friends and has even caught the eye of one of the hottest guys in school. But there are dark forces moving under the surface that Aryn cannot see; and her new crush may not be … human.

Review: A nice and quick comic about a high school girl and folklore.

This was a new concept of review for me, YA comics. Who knew? But I found it interesting and fun to review about this particular comic, Mer.

First, I’d like to critique the art. It isn’t a style I was used to reading, but I still enjoyed it for it’s detail and background. Some panels don’t really require a background, only a color to signify an emotion, and I thought that was interesting. Also the color palette was great too, most comics I read are black an white, or have an interesting choice of colors. Mer fell into the second category. A lot of darks were thrown into the background, but the people were bright in contrast.

The story was pretty interesting. I like a lot of folklore, especially when it comes to mermaids. That is what drew me in at first to the comic. At the end there is also details on the history of each creature, if you want to take time to read those. 😉

Some of the transitions between events and time in the plot were choppy. I’d like a smoother way of coordinating the story. Such as characters, world building, and plot building; all these needed a more easier way of flowing, and not rushing.

Speaking of rushing, some parts were a tad rushed, but the over all speed for the story is a medium. Some things went by very fast, and I had to look back to understand what just happened.

The characters were enjoyable. Some of them even made a few witty comments that I enjoyed. (There was one deference to Carrie, that I kind of found funny.) However, a nicer way of portraying their personalities would have been nice. I got the gist of each of the characters, and basically their kind of trope, but a bit more background or exploration of their character would certainly be something to look into. Understand that I do still like all of them, some even surprised me and redeemed themselves. Others just needed to stand out a bit more, like the main character.

Overall, I was able to read this in one sitting, and I really liked it! If you want something to read, and have some spare time, you should go check out this comic!

Rating: ❄❄❄

More: Thank you for reading! I couldn’t figure out my ‘Menus’ tab at the moment, so this was categorized under ‘YA Reviews’, but it’s still a YA Comic, so those of you bother by my disorganization, I found a loophole! Check out the links above to view the authors! Abby was the artist of this piece and Joelle was the writer! Also if you liked this review, please hit that Like button, comment, or Follow my blog! Thanks a lot for making your way to this post, I’ll swing by later!

Follow Me

Twitter and Goodreads

