Buddy Read Review With Jasmine: Legend

9275658

I have buddy read Legend with Jasmine @ How Useful It Is.

Legend: Day and June are both on different sides of the Republic.

Day is a criminal. He likes to work alone, except for the aid from his good friend Tess, and goes against the Republic with his little antics. Stealing some military tech here, robbing a bank there. He’s the only one who really defies the Republic, but that’s not quite how he sees it.

June is a prodigy. She’s been recorded of having a perfect score on her Trial, and has been learning under the Republic ever since. Sure, she likes to pull a few stunts now and then, but her spot is secure, so she has nothing to worry about.

Then one day, the family of Day’s door was marked with a strange X. It’s unlike all the other plague doors, this one has a line going straight through the middle. Day doesn’t know what it means, but it cannot be good.

In the night, June’s brother has to leave to oversee a mission in one of the labs that creates plague cures. He never makes it back.

Recently a lab has been broken into. The culprit is none other than the infamous Day. June swears to herself to find her brother’s killer, even if it meant risking her life finding him and bringing him to justice.

Review: I really enjoyed almost everything about this book!

I’ve had this book for 2 years now, and I’ve never been able to pick it up. I really didn’t know why; the concept was interesting, it had aspects in it that I’d enjoy, and it’s by an author who doesn’t disappoint. Really, I probably would’ve been crazy if I hadn’t picked it up at all. I’m glad I got to read it this time (even though I was kind of in a slump), because I was finally able to recognize it for how enjoyable it was.

The characters are complex and very well thought out. I didn’t have a POV I favored over another, because both June and Day were equally fun to read about. Both characters were energetic and full of fire, and I loved reading about both of them and the journey they took to find each other. It helps that they were supposed to be enemies, it makes things a lot more interesting. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I became a huge fan of the writing style. It was very detailed and (I don’t know why I thought this, but this was the word that came to mind) professional. It was very professional! I could tell instantly that the author knew what she was writing, took a lot of time fabricating and creating the right words, and was finally able to put them all down in a way that sounded convincing to the readers. That’s the impression that stuck with me, and it made me appreciate the book a little more.

Now, I’ve read a few dystopian books in my time. So not everything jumped out at me, claiming to be a unique plot device. Some things resembled a lot of the other books I’ve read on utopias going bad, and some didn’t. It’s not really a matter of “what’s new”, it’s more like “how comfortable are you rereading some of the same things”. There were things I could pick out which may have been implicated in other books, but really, I still found it enjoyable to read. I predicted a lot of things to happen, just from how I know dystopian books usually go, but reading it in this format, with all new characters and a new plot scheme, was still exciting.

I also really enjoyed the world building. It was informative, but subtle. What I mean is that there are some things that you are told directly about the world building, but most is mainly what you got out of context. I find to enjoy those kinds of books where there’s a nice balance of figuring out the world for yourself, and being told the events leading up to how that world was formed. Because really, no one likes reading long paragraphs droning on about the history of a particular world like it was a textbook instead of a novel, nor do they want to fumble with the pages going back and forth because they were confused and forgot something that was supposed to be context clues. This book had a nice balance of both, and I was easily submerged into it. It definitely helped make the book more appealing to read.

I was addicted to the book, but I could still put it down. I was still in my slump (I guess I should call it that, it wasn’t really a slump though), so I probably put it down more than I usually would. However, when I did pick it up, I really enjoyed it, and forgot about everything else. It was that easy to get addicted. If I tried, I could’ve probably finished it even sooner than I planned.

Overall, it’s a really good read if you enjoy sci-fi, dystopian, or a good romance. I suggest you give it a try, because you might be pleased with the results!

Rating: โ„โ„โ„โ„

More: Again, I’d like to thank Jasmine for agreeing to buddy read with me, even if I was probably the most unreliable person ever. (Sorry!!! ๐Ÿ˜…) Go check out the link above to see her 5 star rating! If you liked this post please hit that Like and/or Follow button! I have a few fun posts in mind, and possibly a surprise interview for you all, so keep your eyes out for that! Also I encourage you to check out the author, Marie Lu, and her site here. Now that’s really all for today, thank you for reading, and I’ll swing by later!

Follow Me

Twitterย andย Goodreads

12 thoughts on “Buddy Read Review With Jasmine: Legend

Add yours

  1. I’ve seen this book everywhere, but never really had the strongest desire to check into it (probably because I didn’t know the plot) but now…darn it! I have yet another book in my TBR! I think that the enemies dynamic is what is making me interested; you don’t see a lot of books with more than one perspective where the characters AREN’T friends or allies.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! I’ve helped convince you to read it! I hope you like it!! I love it when there are POVs about enemies too! I think it makes the book a little more interesting, and you can’t help but be drawn to it. ๐Ÿ™‚ And I haven’t seen so many books where the POVs are set up on each of the enemies’ side. Only maybe a few, but I vaguely remember them.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read this one yet and I’m not sure I ever will, but your review really made me a lot more interested!
    It’s rare to find good dystopias nowadays and this one seems to be the good kind. I like that it has great writing, world building and characters.
    I usually don’t mind if things are “recycled” as long as they’re done well. Tons of “original” stuff end up being pretty crappy. Originality doesn’t equal quality. What really matters to me is how someone takes something that already exists, adds their own spin to it and makes it shine.
    Wonderful review! ๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad that you’re interested in it a little more.
      It is hard to find good dystopian books. This one was actually pretty good, so I’m happy I gave it a chance.
      I don’t mind if things are repeated either. I actually like tropes, and most clichรฉs. It’s always fun to read about the same idea, but twisted over and over again. (Kind of why I like fairy tale retellings, I guess. ๐Ÿ™‚) And I agree that sometimes original ideas aren’t as great. Original ideas are harder to come by, and sometimes the quality of them decreases.
      Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Awesome review! This is one of my favorite trilogies because I love the balance Marie Lu achieved with her characters (I loved reading both of their POVs) and her world-building, which as you mentioned, is very subtle but accentuated with enough detail and context clues to help fill out the setting! Recycled dystopian tropes are to be expected, but I think the author managed them in a way that added to the story rather than take away from it. I’m so glad you enjoyed this book! Can’t wait to see your thoughts on the second book ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Really great review B! Sorry we didn’t discuss more during the read. I’m glad you ended up enjoying the book. I didn’t realized you were experiencing a reading slump. Hopefully this book got you out ๐Ÿ™‚ I did like that the world building is not overwhelming because you’re right, I don’t like reading those parts either haha.. Yeah, I do like both characters too. They both are interesting to read.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m sorry too! We can always do better in book 2. ๐Ÿ™‚ I did kind of get out of my slump. I’m glad you agreed with the world building, I enjoyed Marie Lu’s writing a lot in general, so the world building was really interesting looking back. Both characters were great and likable no matter what side they were on. I’m glad you liked the book!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

