Unpopular Opinions Book Tag!

Thank You!

I want to thank Sophie @ Blame It on Chocolate for tagging me! Go visit her site! You’re crazy if you hadn’t already!

Now if everyone doesn’t hate me by the end of this post, then I will cry tears of joy.

Image result for happy tears gif
Credit: Google Images

A POPULAR BOOK OR BOOK SERIES THAT YOU DIDN’T LIKE.

27190613

And I Darken was okay. I wasn’t totally engaged in it, but I didn’t dislike it that much.

A POPULAR BOOK OR BOOK SERIES THAT EVERYONE ELSE SEEMS TO HATE BUT YOU LOVE.

17878931

First book was pretty good, but everything went downhill for me in the second.

AN OTP THAT YOU DON’T LIKE.

I don’t want to admit anything. Shippers are a scary group of people. I’ll just cheat and try to divert your attention.

Oh, look at those clouds outside. Aren’t they nice? … Nice clouds. Fluffy too!

Very… … fluffy… … … …

Okay fine. I’m cheating and going with a less than semi-popular otp: Violet and Zen from Unremembered.

9791892

A POPULAR BOOK GENRE THAT YOU HARDLY REACH FOR.

Probably horror, which is weird, because I kind of like that stuff. But still, I could never open a horror book or watch a movie. I just like horror games, and sometimes, TV shows.

A POPULAR/BELOVED CHARACTER THAT YOU DO NOT LIKE.

Mare Barrow. Mainly because in the second book she was unrecognizable from the character she was in the first book. Sometimes that’s an okay thing, but not in this case.

23174274

A POPULAR AUTHOR THAT YOU CAN’T SEEM TO GET INTO.

Sarah Dessen books. I’ve tried, but I wasn’t really into them.

16101126

15396970

A POPULAR BOOK TROPE THAT YOU’RE TIRED OF SEEING.

I kind of like a lot of book tropes. I haven’t really come across any I got tired of. I don’t like love triangles as much, but if they’re done well, I like them. I don’t think that counts for this question though.

A POPULAR SERIES THAT YOU HAVE NO INTEREST IN READING.

I have a few on my mind, but one of them is The Problem series.

11366397

THE SAYING GOES “THE BOOK IS ALWAYS BETTER THAN THE MOVIE”, BUT WHAT MOVIE OR TV SHOW ADAPTATION DO YOU PREFER MORE THAN THE BOOK?

So I made a list of books/manga I liked more than the movies/shows/anime:

City of Bones (versus the TV show, I actually like the movie), Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (the movie by itself is good, but when compared to the book, the book is better), Beastly (the movie wasn’t that bad, but I still liked the book more), The Giver (same situation as Beastly), The Book Thief (same situation as Beastly), Romeo & Juliet (I didn’t really like this play, but the script is way better than the movies, especially the one with Leonardo deCaprio [sorry Leo]), The Earl and the Fairy (I’ve only seen two episodes of the anime but they left out one of the characters, and I kind of raged), Ella Enchanted (same situation as Beastly), Divergent (same situation as MPHFPC), aaaaand I think that’s it.

And a list of movies/shows/anime I liked more than the book/manga:

Noragami, OHSHC, Kamisama Hajimemashita, The Martian (though I still love the book), The Hunger Games (though I still love the books), and that’s it.

I Tag

If you’ve already did this, I’m sorry, you don’t have to if you don’t want to.

Rendz/Kate/Jessica/Mandy/Amylee/Maya/Sionna/Azia


 Follow Me

Twitter and Goodreads

 

43 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag!

Add yours

  1. I feel the same way about the Red Queen series. I loved the first book but the second was so much worse. Mare was incredibly annoying and I had to put the book away multiple times to keep me from throwing it against a wall or something. I’m not a fan.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah the ending left quite an impression, the only reason I would read the next book is because I would like to know what happens next but I just know I won’t enjoy it much so I probably shouldn’t read it.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great tag! Thanks for tagging me, looks like a fun challenging Tag. Can’t wait to do it. I love the Red Queen but I’m not a fan of Mare either. I also tried reading Sarah Dessen books but couldn’t finish any. Ugh I really wish I wasn’t so much of a scaredy cat to read horror because I don’t think I’d be bored at all reading, if not terrified. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! I can’t wait to see what you put! The first book was pretty good, but I didn’t enjoy Mare towards the end of Red Queen and in the second. But maybe you did! (If you read the second that is.) 😀 I’ve tried reading Sarah Dessen books too, I only finished one, and the other is a DNF. I wouldn’t be bored reading a horror novel, that’s for sure! I’d just read in broad daylight. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah I liked her at first but she changed in the second book from what I remember and I didn’t like her as much afterwards. Yeah me too. I just stopped caring about reading any more of her books. Not enough time in the world to waste on forcing yourself to do things you don’t enjoy.
        Even in broad daylight I’d hate to read it at home alone! I’d have to read it when I’m surrounded by a lot of people for comfort. Even then I’ll have nightmares.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m sorry, I’ve already done this tag. 😢 I’m also uninterested in The Problem series; it sounds (to me) like it could’ve used a more psychological approach to its stories, and it had the perfect set up for that too. I’m also surprised you put Noragami and OHSHC in anime that you prefer over the manga; I can’t judge with Noragami, as I’ve only just started to read it, but I guess I can’t really compare the OHSHC manga and anime too much, as they never animated the whole manga.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s okay, I’m sorry I didn’t notice! The concept of The Problem wasn’t as promising for me. And you’re right, it could’ve used another psycological outlet for the series. I liked Noragami for that part of the anime which made it seem that Yukine was more of a victim to his own death. It stood out a bit more for me in the anime then it did in the manga, but you have to see that for yourself to decide. 😉 For OHSHC (I’m currently taking a short break from the series, from all manga actually, my manga site is acting up and I’m afraid to use it), I liked that Tamaki and Haruhi find out they like each other, but it was a bit sudden. For 9 or so volumes, they didn’t feel any inclination to like each other in that way, but it took a shorter time (I think around 4 chapters, I’m not sure) for them to start thinking there may be a possibility that they like each other. (But their still unsure, it’s just the premise that they might like each other that was so sudden.) The scan I read was a bit wonky, so it was harder to understand what the characters were saying. And that might have made it seem like the pace quickened. But I don’t really know for sure, I can’t find any other scans for it. Also this was super long, I’m sorry!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, the concept for The Problem would’ve been better with a more psychological approach.
        Hmm, that’s interesting! I’ll have to see for myself. Oh, and which manga site were you using? The one I’m using I like; I think they took a page from Webtoons and made it basically a scroll down; you don’t have to switch pages.
        Ah, I see! I read the “official” print volumes, and while yeah, their feelings were a little sudden, they didn’t get together for a long time. Like, a really long time. And it took them a while to even acknowledge their feelings. Maybe it was the scan? Because even I noticed that it was a tad fast, but not like, Sword Art Online really fast. And wordy comments are awesome!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I used MangaFox because Kissmanga was acting up on me. But recently MangaFox was starting to act weird on my device, so now I’m cautious about using it.
        And I’m glad we agree there. 🙂 I still like the ship though, just not the transition. I haven’t seen SAO yet, but I’ve heard lots of things about the ships. (Even a lot of spoilers.) So yes, better than SAO’s love story in that regard. 😉 And that’s good! I thought I got too wordy. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I use Mangakakalot, which has a similar format to Webtoons that I like. It has a lot on there, from manga to manhwa to Webtoons!
        Yeah, the ship is great, but the transition is rocky. And my thing with SAO is: it’s overly hated, but I didn’t like it. I liked the idea, just not the execution. It was just really badly paced to me.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I’ll have to try it! (I’m breaking on the inside, I haven’t read anything for a week. Manga I mean, I’ve been reading bits of YA, but watching a bunch of anime to make up for no manga. T-T)
        And yeah, with mainstream anime, I bet the flaws, like with SAO, go unnoticed. But thanks for telling me, I’ll keep that in mind! I’ve been told that at least the 1st season is better than the second.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I like the format a lot, so it may work for you!
        Well, SAO is actually really hated lately, which also bugs me; I didn’t enjoy it much (I even DNFed it) but I didn’t hate it. It had a good story, animation, and soundtrack, but the execution needed to be improved, and the characters strengthened. So while I don’t love it, I don’t hate it.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I like the scrolling pages! Thank you for telling me about it!
        I’ve been seeing the hate around too. It doesn’t look all that bad. Like you said, the animation is very promising, and I bet the soundtrack will be great too. I can’t say anything about story, because I haven’t watching it yet, but all stories have their flaws. 😉 I might even enjoy it if I decide to watch it. But yeah, I don’t think it deserves all the hate it’s getting, it may not be great, but it’s not totally bad.

        Liked by 1 person

      7. No problem! I hope you enjoy it.
        Yeah, everything about it was fine, but for me, the pacing was way too choppy (so many time skips, rushed relationships) and the execution could’ve been better. I hope you enjoy it more than I did, if you check it out. Overall, I can say it was fine, it was just the choppy time skips that finally made me think, “no, can’t do this.”

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Hahahaha crazy shippers are the worst! I hope I’m not one of them… I definitely don’t want to be XD
    Love triangles can be great if written well – The Remnant Chronicles are proof. Totally recommend if you haven’t read them yet!
    I’m not sure whether I preferred The Giver movie or the book… I think I kind of got into them at the same time and it just felt very weird, so my feelings were sort of jumbled.
    Loved your post 🙂 And you flatter me, girl! Thank you so much for the lovely shout out ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! Have you ever seen Kiss Him, Not Me? That’s a prime example of crazy shipping! XD (Still a good anime though.) I don’t know if I am one, I don’t really think I am. 😅
      I’ve heard of The Remnant Chronicles! If the triangle is as good as you say it is, I might check it out later. 😉
      I like the movie by itself, but it’s still a really good movie. But it’s very different from when I imagined the book. (I read the book first.) But I’m glad you liked it though!
      Thank you!! And no problem, it’s true!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I haven’t seen that one yet, no! I’m very picky about “harem” like types… I just find them a bit overwhelming at times hahaha I like them when they’re done well, though.
        The love triangle was really great! In my opinion, of course.
        I think I literally read a bit of the book, watched a bit of the movie, read some more, watched some more, etc. I really wanted to tell the differences between them, which might have ended up not being my best decision to date xD It was still good, but it might have contributed to some of my mixed feelings.
        I agree, things were very different from what I’d imagined! Not better or worse, just different I guess.
        Hahaha thank you ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Same, I like that one and OHSHC. Other than that, I’m wary of the rest.
        And that’s great! I’ll keep that in mind!
        It’s okay! And I agree, it’s just a different mindset than the book, not really bad or good, but separate in it’s own way.
        And no problem. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks so much for the tag! I have a lot of unpopular opinions about such, so I think this will be perfect. I like the movie City of Bones sooooooooo much better than the TV show. I found it to actually be very good and the TV show…was not my cup of tea. And definitely not a fan of Mare either. And definitely watch out for those shippers. XD Wonderful post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay, can’t wait to see what you have in mind for the tag! And I’m so glad you agree with me!! I don’t like the TV show either, and I loved the movie a lot better after the show aired. I only watched the first few episodes of the show, but that’s it. And I’m not one for Mare either. Thank you!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I tried to watch the TV show, but after one episode, I was done. But my friend felt the same way! She’s a huge Shadowhunters fan and she complained a lot about the movie until after she saw the TV show and she’s like, wow, that movie is sooooo good compared to it.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I loved Red Queen! I have only read the first book in the series so far so I can’t comment at all about how the rest of the series is, but I was very impressed especially after seeing so many complaints online about how trope-y it was.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you liked it though! I’m not really concerned about tropes (I actually kind of like them). I’m more concerned about characters and how they react or change. I hope you enjoy Glass Sword a lot more than I did! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. To be fair it wasn’t just you. I’d seen quite a few people comment that the series goes downhill…but then again, I also saw many who complained about the first book and I thought they were wrong about that, so who knows?

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

