9361589

I have buddy read The Night Circus with Sam @ RiverMoose-Reads.

The Night Circus: Made from what must have been from the mind of a dreamer, The Cirque des Rêves was made to inspire and intrigue all who would come within. It would arrive with no loud whistles or fireworks; it came silently one night, and would leave as if it was never even there. During the dawn, the circus would be closed, but at night was when it was most alive.

Celia Bowen has been tangled up in some unseeable game ever since she was a little girl clumsily trying to control her magic. Her opponent was only a vague outline, a person whom she’d never met but still one who’d shaped her life and her every move without knowing it. Her learning tactics instructed by her father were rather gruesome looking back, but Celia has prepared her life for the game, and continues to practice at every turn. Which was why becoming an illusionist for the mysterious circus is a proper outlet to be closer to her opponent.

Marco was picked up long ago by a strange man in a grey suit. He was never anyone special, but the man in grey saw his potential of what he could be and took him in as his student. Marco barely left his confines right after, and prepared himself for each of his lessons from the man in grey by hiding behind mountains of books. He was always aware of a game that took place, and about his unrevealed opponent, but never knew any more than that.

However many years later, each contender has the privilege of meeting each other, and the tension of the game increases. Without knowing how it ends, these two souls fall for each other in a whirlwind of black-and-white tents, and luxurious dinners. Love is beautiful and it is pain, but the game is a lot stronger than these two had anticipated, and could be the one thing that could break them apart. Not only them, but also many of the lives who’ve helped make the circus the splendid revelry it was.


Our Thoughts:

(Black, Red, and Grey; colors of the Rêveurs. 😄)

1) Which point of view was your favorite to read from?

Icebreaker: Bailey’s! It took some time for me to really appreciate his chapters, but he ultimately ended up being my favorite POV to read from.

RiverMooseHonestly? I really liked reading Bailey’s chapters because, even though for most of the book they felt extraneous and not grounded into the story like the rest, it ties in nicely and I liked the little glimpses of the future you get through his because his chapters ran ahead in the timeline of Celia’s and Marco’s. I also really liked Herr Theissen’s. I liked all the POVs though.

2) What did you think of the writing style/multi-narrative structure?

Icebreaker: Oh, I thought it was all really unique. I don’t see many multi-narrative books, and it was refreshing to learn that this story contained second and third person narratives. As for the writing style, I tend to enjoy lots of descriptions, and The Night Circus contained very detailed ones.

RiverMoose: I liked it. It feels floaty and insubstantial at times – very flowery and descriptive but you’re still at times unclear as to whats happening, but I thought it worked really well with the setting of the story, and I liked how the multi-POVs and stories we get to see make the whole thing come together and come to life because it makes it larger scale.

3) Which tent would you most want to visit at The Night Circus?

Icebreaker: I’d love to see the illusionist’s or the fortune teller’s tent! I’ve always loved watching magic acts when I was little and that has never changed. However I’ve never had my future read before, so I’d like to see what’s in store. (I’d also stick around the circus for Poppet and Widget’s kitten act, haha.)

RiverMooseI’m the sort of person who gets utterly paralyzed by choice so I’d probably just try to methodically work my way through the circus. Knowing many of the tents though, I think I’d enjoy the labyrinth.


Review: THIS WAS SUCH A BEAUTIFUL PIECE OF ART ON PAPER!

Really! How could you call this a book? The word seems minimal to what The Night Circus really is, because in truth, it is a beautifully thoughtout poem of words strung together in a form of art. Then banded together in a series of pages and binding, with a plastered-on cover. Then branded as a “book” or “novel”, which in hindsight, it is a book, but it’s so much more than that.

First, I’d like to acknowledge the phenomenal writing style!! It’s so, so magical, and very whimsical—like listening to a storyteller sharing an elaborate tale while waving their hands in fluid motions. (I have a vivid imagination as you can tell.) That’s exactly what it sounded like when I was reading The Night Circus in my mind! (Trying to avoid saying the word book.) After completing the entire story, I was just filled with so much awe; and also lots of regret that I didn’t save a lot of quotes.

When I was reading it, a friend of mine who read it had told me, “It’s like Romeo and Juliet, but with magic.” At first, I didn’t believe it (I didn’t think it was the right style) but as I continued reading I thought, “Oh wow, it really is like Romeo and Juliet, but with magic, and likable characters.” So I couldn’t really get it out of my head, that this story was like Romeo and Juliet. Also as I was in the middle of reading this, I had an assignment to create a poem, and I based it off of The Night Circus. Which was pretty fun, because it was easy to base a poem after this beauty.

As I sort of mentioned, all the characters were very likable; albeit some more than others. I enjoyed reading all of the POVs of all the characters. My favorite would probably be Bailey, he’s not entirely a main character, but he’s still very important to the story afterwards. I liked Celia’s and Marco’s POVs, but Bailey had to be one of my favorites, and not because there were a lot of cats during his chapters (although I did love the twins’ cat show, that would be the one thing I’d go to the circus for). I liked the fact that Bailey, someone who seemed like a complete side character, became a crucial part of the plot. (What can I say? I always like the underdog.) Celia’s and Marco’s POVs missed a touch of the magic that the circus brings, and Bailey was able to bring that out each time he visited, and his vision of the circus was very entertaining to read compared to the other POVs.

The story is in third person most of the time, but about a third is in second person, which I don’t see a lot nowadays. I really enjoyed this touch, the second person chapters related a lot to what goes on in the story on a deeper level. The entire chapter in itself is just one big metaphor (it seems like it is at least). Also it’s like you’re in the story yourself, spending a night in the circus.

The plot is something like a puzzle, very elusive. It didn’t become clear what was really going on until the backstories started revealing themselves, which is comes much later. As I was reading, I got a fleeting grasp of the purpose of the game, but it would fade away until I could gain another grain of background. I had to dig a lot deeper in the story to really learn what was going on. But I really enjoyed it, because it was something of a mystery but being spoon fed clues every few chapters.

The world building was, well, out of this world! Everything from the setting and the time period was very detailed. Some chapters are nothing but descriptions! I really felt as though I was inside the circus itself or at one of Chandresh’s dinner parties; everything about it left me speechless. (But not entirely, seeing as I’m making a review and all.)

Overall, I highly enjoyed reading The Night Circus, and I recommend it to all mystery, historical, fantasy, and mystic lovers!

Rating: ❄️❄️❄️❄️❄️

More: If you liked this post, and want more like it, please hit that Like button below and/or Follow button! Don’t forget the author, Erin Morgenstern’s site is here! Finally, I want to thank my buddy, Sam for reading The Night Circus with me! Please make sure to visit her site! That’s all for now, I’ll swing by later!

Follow Me

Twitter and Goodreads

