Review: Beheld

29937983

Beheld: Kendra likes to help couples come together all the time. Some of them end in disaster, but others end with a happily ever after.

However, Kendra’s happily ever after is still currently nonexistent. There was a time, over three hundred years to be exact, where she found love but lost it tragically. It all started in a place called Salem, but after her escape she lost touch with James. Many years past, and Kendra continues to aid couples in needโ€”there was a girl who’s said to have turned straw into gold, a heartbroken wife trying to find the castle East of the Sun and West of the Moon, and a boy who thought he was an ugly duckling.

Ever since then she’s been traveling the world trying to find the person who she first beheld.

Review: I really love this book.

First from the synopsis above, you could probably tell which stories these were based on. If not, then they were based off of Little Red Riding Hood (this was the Salem story [that and the witch trials which did actually happen] it was loosely based), East of the Sun and West of the Moon, Rumpelstiltskin, and The Ugly Duckling.

I originally thought that the whole book would be in Kendra’s perspective, but it contained many different POVs. I like multiple POV books, so I did like reading this one in particular, but I wish there were more Kendra POV chapters because she was originally the main character. Also because the POVs split up the stories, there were multiple stories to read about and I liked each of them equally.

I did like most of the characters, there might be a few POVs that I was not really into, like Cornelia’s, but I got used to them as I was reading and ended up enjoying them all. Kendra continues to help others, but I couldn’t stop thinking that she made the situation a bit more complicated in the process. In the last story, Chris’s life becomes a bit more harder for him after Kendra helps, but I think it adds to the irony and thus the book is more entertaining.

Getting back to Cornelia’s story. Her POV was probably my least favorite. I liked her more towards the end, but at the beginning she was very obsessed with Karl and it didn’t look really good on her. Mostly it was Karl that I didn’t trust, he was a bit of a coward and I grew suspicious of him when he started calling Cornelia all sorts of baby names. Even through all that, I still really enjoyed her story because of how well it played out.

Like a lot of retellings, you could tell what would happen next. This applied to a few of the stories in the books, but it was still its own individual style and writing that made it really interesting to read. I wasn’t too addicted to the book, but once I turned a page, I couldn’t stop. ๐Ÿ˜„

The references and the overall history lesson made me give this book a bunch of brownie points. There’s a reason why I keep coming back to this series, it’s not just some of the witty characters, but the references to a few fandoms. (In this book there was a manga reference [its a definition of a term but I won’t go there today], a Harry Potter reference, and a BuzzFeed reference. This probably doesn’t interest you whatsoever, but I like to hear books mentioning random things that I know about.)

Overall, it is a pretty entertaining book, and if you decide to read it I hope you can enjoy it too!

Rating: โ„๏ธโ„๏ธโ„๏ธโ„๏ธ

More: If you liked this review, please click that Like/Follow button! If you’re interested in Alex Flinn’s books, then you can click the link to her site here. Thank you for reading again! I’ll swing by here again another time, bye!

Follow Me

Twitter and Goodreads

16 thoughts on “Review: Beheld

Add yours

    1. I liked Beastly! I can’t remember if it was the first book I’ve read from Flinn though, but I do know it’s been quite some time since I’ve picked it up. The reference isn’t for a specific manga series, it’s for a term. And I’m glad you’re interested in checking it out!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Take your time! I have a lot of things I need to look into myself. The earliest book from Flinn, that I remember, is Towering. It was okay, but I got hooked to read the rest of her books because of Beastly. (There’s also a movie out about Beastly, I didn’t know that until I saw it in a video rental store last year.)

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh I really want to read this one! But would I need to read the previous books in the series first? And are they all as great?
    I have a soft spot for retellings and lost loves and whatnot, so… Yeah, Beheld definitely sounds like something I would enjoy reading ๐Ÿ™‚
    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s great to hear! You don’t have to read the other books, they’re not in any order, they just revolve around the same character, Kendra. I really liked all of them, I think you could too. ๐Ÿ™‚ I have a soft spot for retellings too. And thank you!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah, thanks for clarifying! That’s great then ๐Ÿ™‚ I wasn’t sure I’d be interested in reading all three books before this one! Is her story with James depicted in any of those, though? It would be nice to read, I think.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. James is mentioned, and appears, in this one. He’s mentioned in Bewitching only once, but I don’t think his name was ever revealed. And I’m glad that you’re interested in this book, even if it’s a little. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

