17162156

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children: Jacob has heard all the stories.

Of a girl who can make a single flame from a thought. Of an invisible boy who liked to observe people. Of a girl with the strength of ten men. Of a boy with bees living inside of him.

All of these stories he’s heard from his grandfather, who was lucky enough to live with them on a remote island. However, years pass, and as Jacob grew older, the truths his grandfather told turned into fairy tales. Jacob no longer wanted to explore or hear of fantasies fabricated from his crazy relative. What he is seeing now is what’s real, and that’s all that matters.

Then, Jacob starts to see things after his grandfather was attacked. For awhile he passed it off as post trauma, but when Jacob goes to visit the island, the creatures he sees begin to be more real. And if they’re real, that would mean the rest of his grandfather’s tales about peculiar children should be real too.

Review: This was a great book!

First of all, I just want to say that I think it’s incredible that Riggs fabricated this story from a bunch of vintage photos he got at flea markets and such. It’s amazing to think that a few photos that anyone could pass by without any interest could be spun into a bestselling book!

I love all the characters! All of their personalities were comical and fun to read! Jacob was more of a rebellious spirit towards his parents, Emma was a brave-hearted person (you can’t talk her out of anything, she’s her own person and a spunky one at that), Millard was a sarcastic but lovable cinnamon roll, and Miss Peregrine is just as sharp and articulate as I imagined! I love all of the supporting characters, they each played a great role and some even had really interesting backgrounds (though I wish there was more detail going into them).

The writing was so very detailed! I imagined it as describing a movie set, that’s what I loved about all of it! I really did deserve a movie, but not the movie it got. (I love Tim Burton movies, but a lot of things should’ve been changed to make the movie more like the book.) The pace was a but slow, it took about seven chapters for Jacob to realize that all he’s seeing was real, and the chapters are really long so that was about halfway through the book. However, it was still exciting to read once he was introduced to the rest of the characters.

I did wish the villain was a bit more conniving. Don’t get me wrong, he really was clever, but I think maybe he could have a lot more personality and motive like the rest of the characters.

I also wasn’t too addicted to the book, it took a long time for me to read it, but once I started a new chapter it was hard for me to put it down!

Rating: ❄️❄️❄️❄️

More: I really want to read the rest of the series now! I hope you liked this review, and if you did click that Like button below! Also make me happy and hit that Follow button! If you want to check out more books by Ransom Riggs, here’s a link to his site. Thanks for reading, I’ll swing by later, bye!

Follow Me

Twitter and Goodreads

