Review: You Don’t Know My Name

25876993

You Don’t Know My Name: Reagan has lived the life of a spy.

She is constantly moving and changing her name for the fear of being caught by her enemies. Being a Black Angel comes with its faults, and Reagan doesn’t know if she truly wants to be one in the first place. She’s always wanted to have a normal, non-dangerous lifestyle, but when one of her parents enemies makes himself known, she knows the dream life she wants will never come true.

To top all of that, she’s risking her life to bring down one of the most fearful enemies of them all. And she’s the only one capable, and willing, to do so.

Review: This was a fairly good book.

As expected, there is tons of action scenes in almost every back-corner of the book. I found each of them to be very exciting, and I really liked reading them. The writing was at its most descriptive whenever a fight scene came up, but I wished it would’ve stayed that detailed throughout the whole book.

Reagan was a very tough and strong character. However, she doesn’t think before she acts. At these times, she’s careless and doesn’t even consider the outcome of the things she’s doing. I understand that she’s thinking from a hero’s perspective, but she sometimes doesn’t know when to stop. Despite all that, she really does have some great qualities, like her ability to plan. But her expert planning and her reasoning don’t always collide together, and that’s why she jumps into action whenever something difficult happens.

For example (this whole paragraph is a spoiler; skip to avoid) chapter 15. This whole chapter is based on the fight with her mother. Reagan goes too far and doesn’t hold anything back, and ends up saying something she regrets. I understand her situation, but I can also see that she was being a bit hot-headed and temperamental. After her parents get kidnapped, Reagan deliberately breaks all the rules she’s been told, and goes after them without proper backup. Lot of disputes in the Black Angels occur to lead Reagan away, so she’s not fully to blame, but there were a few possibilities for her to still save her parents and not go solo. First, she could have actually listening to her aunt. If she listened, maybe her aunt wouldn’t have called her “emotionally compromised” and listened to Reagan to help create a valid plan. Also not being called emotionally compromised could have allowed Reagan to do the field work. Even though she was in danger, I bet she could’ve formulated a plan, besides doing something drastic, to be able to go on the field.

I didn’t like how Reagan and her friends interacted with each other. It all seemed like it was stereotyping all teenage speech. For example, they talked in abbreviations like NBB (never been better) and a few others. It was kind of hard to follow unless they explained it. Also just some phases, or actions, seemed done before and they had very odd goals.

I wasn’t so much into Luke either. I can see he was a nice guy and all, but his character was a little bland. He imbodies the generic male love interest (who can also shoot) and I couldn’t find anything striking about him. I didn’t really ship the two characters together because at first I thought they were simply friends, so that is how I continued to view them in the entire book.

I did really enjoy the concept of the book. All of the action scenes were unputdownable. I really enjoyed reading about this group of spies, who were so off the grid, only a select few were able to know they even existed. I thought it was a very good plot idea, and I had fun with it.

Overall, if you love spy books, give this one a try. You might like it, or you might not, but it’s worth taking a peek at.

Rating: ❄️❄️.5

More: If you like this review, please hit that Like button! Or that Follow button too, if you truly want to make me smile. 🙂 Did you read the book? Did you like it? Do you feel I missed anything? Comment below and I’ll read it! If you are interested in this book, here is a link to Kristen Orlando’s site. Thanks for reading, I’ll swing back again later!

Follow Me

Twitter and Goodreads

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

