29922773

**I have been given a review copy for this book by the author in exchange for an honest review.**

TITLE: Indiana Belle

AUTHOR: John Heldt

PUB. DATE: April 14, 2016

WHERE TO BUY: Amazon

FORMAT: E-ARC

Indiana Belle: Providence, Rhode Island, 2017. When doctoral student Cameron Coelho, 28, opens a package from Indiana, he finds more than private papers that will help him with his dissertation. He finds a photograph of a beautiful society editor murdered in 1925 and clues to a century-old mystery. Within days, he meets Geoffrey Bell, the “time-travel professor,” and begins an unlikely journey through the Roaring Twenties. Filled with history, romance, and intrigue, INDIANA BELLE follows a lonely soul on the adventure of a lifetime as he searches for love and answers in the age of Prohibition, flappers, and jazz.

Review: This was a good read.

I really enjoyed the 20s theme of the whole book, it was a really interesting time period to read about. The book describes it as foreign, yet it is still a well-known time period, and also as a very quaint time. A lot of the thoughts on the setting in general was really descriptive and I enjoyed it very much.

I really liked reading about Candice’s character. She was very gutsy and spunky! She actually reminded me of Lois Lane, you know, cause she’s a reporter too. That, and they both have a really funny, yet stubborn side to them that was enjoyable to read. Candice didn’t really seem afraid of anything, and I also thought that was a good character trait to have.

Cameron is more of a dreamer, adventure-seeking character. He jumps at any opportunity to have an adventure, and what better one than time travel? Overall, he had a good heart and always meant well.

The book is fairly slow paced, I had some trouble of it sticking. I was excited throughout the beginning and then the end, but everything in between was a bit slow at certain times. However, the action at the end got me really excited and I finished the book easily from there.

I enjoyed the plot twists. (I figured it out before hand, I feel accomplished!) I don’t want to say anything more about them, for the fear of spoiling it, but I’m just going to say it was a nice basis for the plot.

Rating: ❄❄❄

More: Thank your for checking out this post! If you want to know more about the author, I’ve got links to click above for you. If you happened to like this post, please click that Like button, or go the extra mile and hit that Follow button! (Every Follow matters!!!) I’ll check on you guys later. For now, see ya!

Follow Me

Twitter and Goodreads

