Update: What Should I Do With My Blog???

 :

Straight to the Topic

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the future of this blog. Where is it going? What am I doing here? How can I change things?

Basically for the past week I was at war with myself on how to continue this blog, and a few thoughts kept nagging at my mind.

A Break?

For the time being: no. Whenever I though of taking a break, it would always result as a long one. About three to five months long. Yes, this has been in consideration for a while (for a long while actually), but I don’t think I can really take a break from blogging. I have reviews scheduled up until late March, and I still have some unfinished posts/reviews I’ve been needing to finish. So it would seem taking a long break wasn’t really an option.

Not only that, but I check my blog every day *nervous laughter* and I can’t really part from it no matter what. I love interacting with all of you, and I like seeing that little orange dot appear now and then (aka the notifications). Many of you are very positive, and I just love blogging because of it!

Still, I’ve had some inner controversy with myself. Some days, if I were to be honest with all of you, writing a simple post felt exhausting. It felt like a chore on a couple of occasions, and I’d like to avoid associating my blog as “work”.

I’ve been falling in and out of YA ever since summer ended, really. And I wanted to create a better blog where I could have a lot of fun on, and discuss other topics I really liked.

Should I Make a Second Blog?

The topic I wanted to expand my blog to, was anime and manga. If you checked my Goodreads, most of the books I’ve read since the beginning of 2017 is manga. I still really love YA with all my heart, but I’ve been struggling to catch up on so many things and I kept falling out of reading it. And all of my posts are centered around YA so much, I realized that I didn’t include many other types of books that I said I would discover. So the idea of making a second blog, not a main one, went through my mind.

I know what your thinking, “Problem solved! You can just make two blogs on separate topics and go from there!” The problem: time. If you know me very well, then you know I’m awful at time management. Just, completely awful at it. Making a second blog would double the posts I make (I try 4 a week [I write them all on Saturday and Sunday, and each post is about 2 hours at most to write]). So that idea was shot down.

Should I Incorporate Other Things Into My Blog?

I’ve been hopping around Anime/Manga blogs on WordPress and I really liked looking at all of them. Only a few also talk about YA, and almost all only just Anime. So would it still be okay to make some sort of duo blog, with Anime/Manga and regular books as well? The answer: yes.

There is somewhat of a problem though. At first I thought maybe incorporating new things into this blog was a good idea. I could meet so many new people who also enjoy all the things I’m in. Also I had a few ideas for posts that I was really interested in making. But how could I balance YA and Anime/Manga on my blog.

I tend to drop a lot of things, for example I used to do questions on my blog where I just talked about random bookish things (aka “Polls & Qs”), but I suddenly stopped writing those. I’ve dropped a few things too, like series or shows, just because they were no longer my style. So I was afraid of maybe dropping YA entirely and focusing on Anime/Manga. Or maybe even reverting back to YA, but loosing interest on Anime/Manga; which is not pretty good either since I’m writing this whole post about it and worrying just so I can include it in my blog. (I also fear reading multiple books at once because I could like one book better than another and DNF it, which I try to avoid.) I would have no balance and I would go back to where I started again.

Now What’s My Plan?

I have no idea.

I could take a long break, which I don’t think I really could (but still might do), so I can have time offline and maybe come back in later. (It’ll be even more difficult coming back in if I take a break.)

Or I could make a second blog based on random fangirling otaku moments (even though I’m SO FAR from being one) (I am still new to anime, I barely know what I am doing, I don’t think I’m a qualified otaku yet).

Or I could try and center my blog on not just YA, but other types of books like maybe Graphic Novels, Light Novels (still have yet to read one), Manga, and even Anime.

And honestly if doesn’t just have to be YA vs Manga on my blog. I could have lots of other new things on here. Sure I can’t really think of them at the moment, but I’d like my blog basis to expand and grow.

You can probably see my point as to why I’m so confused as to what to do. You’re probably thinking I’m fretting over nothing. But I’d still really like your opinion on how I should continue on my blog and what’s the best step. I value the reader’s opinions as well as my own, so please comment what you think! I’d love some advice!

I probably might end up changing nothing if it ends up suiting me better, but I just wanted to share some ideas I’ve had. I do really want to change up this blog a bit, and include new kinds of posts, but I’m still confused which direction I should go.

Thanks for reading, it was a pretty long post; hope I didn’t babble.

Follow Me

Twitter and Goodreads

29 thoughts on “Update: What Should I Do With My Blog???

Add yours

  1. Hmm…I think you should incorporate new stuff into your blog! Like now, I’m doing the Women’s Strength in Fictions articles and lot more tags, but I haven’t neglected my Webtoon stuff. And yeah, I’m doing a hiatus from my short stories and such, but that’s just motivation problems. So I think you should incorporate anime/manga/Webtoons into your blog. People change, and you don’t have to neglect YA entirely; it’s just expanding what you do with your blog. And if you have to take a break from the blog, that’s cool too; blogging takes a lot of energy and time. That’s probably why I make such infrequent posts, haha.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! I thought it was really neat that your making all kinds of new posts!
      (I like your Women’s Strengths in Fiction a lot!) And you also can balance them out really well with WebToons! I wanted to have new kinds of ideas, and to try to introduce new topics. So I wanted to expand by blog in the direction of manga/anime/WebToons. I’m really glad you think I should! It makes decision making a lot easier for me!

      Like

      1. Oh, thanks so much! They’re very difficult to write, as I haven’t watched/read a lot of them pieces of fiction in forever, so it really challenges my memory, haha. And it’s only natural as people’s likes change, to write new stuff. In fact, I’m very curious as to what you’ll write about anime/manga/Webtoons, so I really look forward to that!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I bet it’s hard, but you make it work! I have a few post ideas, but I hope to have some more in the future! I actually wrote a manga review too, and I wanted to post it sometime. I haven’t watch many anime or read a lot of manga series, so it’ll be a challenge from the start because I’m still unsure about everything. But I hope it’ll go right in the end. And I’m glad your interested in any of my future posts!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I love Ouran too! And it’s fine! I like searching for some new anime whenever I get the chance! It’s like a scavenger hunt. But what other anime shows do you watch beside Ouran, Tokyo Ghoul, and Death Note? I’m curious, I might end up watching them sometime. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      4. My favorite is still Steins;Gate. It’s mainly sci-fi, but has a little bit of everything in it. I also like Puella Magi Madoka Magica, it has one heck of a plot twist. And I like Attack on Titan, although it is a little overrated. Mushishi is on my to watch list; I’ve heard it gives off a Ghibli vibe.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I’ve heard of Steins;Gate, is it like a lime travel anime? It looked really good! I haven’t heard the others except for Attack on Titan (I know it because of the hype). But I will check the ones I don’t know out! They sound really cool to watch!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I think it’s a good idea to incorporate manga / anime in your blog. I personally don’t read/watch those but your blog is your little place in the internet and you should talk about the things that interest you. My blog has been changing a lot since the beginning as well and that’s good because I have changed as well.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m glad you think I should talk about anime/manga! I’ve been thinking about it for awhile now, and I am changing a lot of my views on blogging topics, and thought this was a new way to change up my blog! Thank you for your advice!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I think you should incorporate new things into your blog. From what I can gather, it looks like this blog is very much ‘book-related’. As we get older, our tastes will change and it would be too difficult to create a new blog for every new interest. As long as one blog has a central theme (like books) then there’s no reason to create a side blog. The only time you might want think about another blog would be if you suddentl developed an overwhelming interest in sports or animals. I think blogs should reflect a person’s changing interest and it doesn’t mean we have to abandon previous interests altogether. I hope this helps

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I think you should write about whatever you feel like writing about. YA is fun, but if you write about anime or manga, that would be fun too. Hope you figure out what you want and that you keep enjoying your blog.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! I really like both YA and Anime/Manga and would like to center my blog around both of them. Writing about both would be a lot more fun for me, especially if both topics strike my interest. Thank you again for your advice! 😄

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I can definitely see where you’re having a struggle trying to come up with a final decision. There are a lot of factors at play. D: I think it would be really cool if you incorporated anime and manga into your blog. I follow quite a few blogs that incorporate YA, manga, and anime altogether and I don’t think the blog suffers from inclusion of any (even if I have literally no clue what they’re talking about in reference to anime, I still enjoy their blogs). But I know it might be intimidating to have your predominantly YA followers exposed to the new stuff. However, I think if you still include all three in different ways each week, I think you could satisfy them all. I would still be super interested! 😀 It’s a hard decision, but I think incorporation of those two things would be really cool – and if you’re fangirling, I think you’ll definitely inspire other people too as well! 🙂 Best of luck with whatever you decide.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you!! I’m glad you understand. I was afraid at first because introducing a new topic might be a little confusing at first to those who follow my blog for the purposes of YA. But that’s a great idea! Rotating and scattering posts about topics each week to satisfy all of the readers! I’m also glad to hear that you, a reader, would still appreciate my posts even if the topic they’re written about changes. It means a lot to me, and I’m appreciate your support! Thank you so much again!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. There’s no such thing as a qualified Otaku. If you like anime, you’re an otaku! I’m so happy you’re watching/reading more anime/manga and I would love to hear your thoughts on it. I think starting a new blog from scratch will take a lot more time and effort, but it’s entirely your wish. I hope you figure it out and good luck! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  7. I really think that blogging is about experiences, so you could definitely incorporate new things into your blog, and if they don’t work out, you just simply stop talking about them. I’m sure your readers wouldn’t mind, and you wouldn’t have *more* trouble with time (I can relate to that, to be honest :/ ).
    I’ve thought about taking a break too, but it’s just very hard – I love it here so much ❤ I used to check WordPress every day too, but I found out that checking it every 3-4 days works better for me…
    But it's really up to you! Whatever you decide, remember to put yourself first – what you like, what you want. You'll be the one writing, after all. ^^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the advice! I was afraid of dropping one topic, but I’m not so worried about it anymore after reading this. I think a break is good, you can certainly still check on your stats, but you can take a break from writing posts. Thanks you again! You helped!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

