Review Copy: Bluebeard’s Curse

33840233

**I have been given a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.**

TITLE: Bluebeard’s Curse

AUTHOR: Regine Abel

PUB. DATE: February 15, 2017

WHERE TO BUY: Audible,

FORMAT: E-ARC

Bluebeard’s CurseKing Eric Thorsen, also known as Bluebeard, is once more widowed. Like all the others before her, his late wife succumbed to the lure of the curse that plagues him and threatens the realm. Willing maidens gather at the castle in the hope of becoming the next Queen. However, that title comes with a steep price: the King’s new bride must first resist temptation for one year and one day, or die trying.

Review: I know how some readers like to be told when there is mature content within a book, so I’m letting you know that there is some in here before hand. 🙂

There was no denying that Astrid was a good listener and a helpful person, but there were a few times where I wished she had a bit more of a backbone. She seemed easily frightened and relied on Eric a bit too much during the first half of the book. However, she did slowly get better towards the end of the book with her sudden act of bravery. And with that, she grew more composed and a bit stronger in my eyes.

I wasn’t really impressed, however, with Eric very much. He seemed to think only one way (mainly his mind was on Astrid and such) and I’d enjoy it if there was a bit more freedom to his character. For example like if he were to also be focused on his job of ruling a bit more, or maintaining the peace of his kingdom; something to allow his personality to show through how he feels about certain topics. He does change in the book, but I wasn’t able to really see it as much as I would’ve hoped.

The beginning was went by fast, but as the book progressed, I was settling into the pace. I did enjoy the fast-paced writing of the book, it did not slow down the plot and I thought that was a good thing. I was even able to finish it in a couple of hours!

I was interested in the fantasy aspect of the book. After reading it, I was impressed by the world and the characters’ backstories. It was only the romantic aspect that I wasn’t very much into (it was much too graphic for me and I got uncomfortable in a few scenes), but that’s only just my take.

I really enjoyed looking at the cover, I didn’t understand the necklace on the front until I picked up the book. I liked the connecting of the cover to the story, it was a nice touch.

Overall, it was a fast and easy read, and if you ever look it I hope it’ll spark your interest.

Rating: ❄️❄️.5

More: That concludes my post! If you liked this review, then by all means, click that Like button below! Please also scroll to the bottom of my site and hit that Follow button! I’ll swing by here again later, bye!

Follow Me

Twitter and Goodreads

7 thoughts on “Review Copy: Bluebeard’s Curse

Add yours

    1. It doesn’t have any. It’s about a young king who is cursed, and a woman, Astrid, who seems like the only one who can break it. There are elements which involve the sea, but there are no pirates in it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

