28114396

Ever the Hunted: In a divided land close to war, Britta survives alone in the Ever Woods. She’s not able to inherit her late father’s land, so she’s reduced to hunting her own game and finding her own shelter. However when the King of Malam’s guard catches her poaching in the king’s land, she is sentenced to hang.

Lord Jamais, from the king’s court, strikes a deal with her. He will grant her inheritance of her father’s land and her life if she’s able to catch her father’s killer. Not wanting to be stuck in her situation forever, she accepts but learns that the killer is none other than her long time friend, Cohen.

Everyone is carrying secrets, but being the murderer to Britta’s father isn’t one of them. Britta and Cohen soon strike an alliance to find the truth to her father’s death, and unravel what is going on behind Malam’s court in the process.

Review: This was a really good book!

Britta is very selfless. She will risk her life for the ones she loves and is stronger when she is with them. I liked almost everything about her, and she was an easy character to understand. She was also very brave, she isn’t afraid to speak her mind, and she always tells the truth.

I found the interaction between Cohen and Britta very amusing. They always argue, but it’s funny to listen to it. You can easily tell that the roots of their friendship run deep, and it’s heartwarming to see them banter all the time. They really are a great pair.

I liked the setting very much! I’m very into fantasy YA books, and this was just right up my alley. However, sometimes it wasn’t descriptive enough when it comes to character actions or scenery and I had to fill in the blanks. Other than that, I really enjoy the medieval setting!

It was an easy book for me to read, the writing was very simple. But I wasn’t addicted to it, I could put it down any time and pick it up again. And most events were predictable, I saw many things coming before they did and so I didn’t experience any suspense.

Overall, it was a fun, light book to read if you ever feel like it. I had my moments of excitement when turning a page, and I highly enjoyed reading it.

Rating: ❄️❄️❄️

More: If you liked this review, please click that Like button below or hit Follow! This is Erin Summerill’s first book and if you want to find out more about her, click here!! Thank you for reading, and I’ll be back here again!

Follow Me

Twitter and Goodreads

