Review: Replica

32454266

Replica: Lyra is a replica, she was engineered by humans. Gemma is as close to normal as you can get, she’s the daughter of a very powerful pharmaceutical founder. These two girls’ worlds collide when they discover the secrets of their origin: Haven.

From the beginning, Lyra always felt apart from the real people, as in the natural-borns. She has few pleasures at Haven, and is isolated from the outside world. When someone from the outside destroys the only home Lyra’s ever had, she starts to uncover the truth about why she was created in the first place.

Gemma would give anything to go back to normal. She’d even happily go back to the days of being called “Frankenstein” and have Chloe bully her around. But now Gemma has run away from home to find out more about this place called Haven, an institute she’s only heard about from her parents.

Lyra manages to run away with another replica, 72, and they set off towards the mainland.

Gemma ventures into the Florida marshes to get a close enough look at Haven.

The two girls meet and worlds start to unravel.

Review: They have everything in this book! Murder, mystery, love, loss, heartbreak, redemption, sci-fi, fantasy, etc. EVERYTHING! IT WAS EPIC!

I thought the separation of the book was really neat! Have of the book is Lyra’s story, and when you flip it upside down and turn it around, it’s Gemma’s story. You could read both stories separately or read them together in alternating chapters (which I did). It was really creative, and so new to me; I thought it was brilliant!

I loved Gemma’s POV the best. Especially the ending chapter; the words that were said were so beautiful. I loved seeing both girls change, but I enjoyed Gemma realizing the truth and accepting herself at the end. It was very heartwarming, and so many other feels!

I felt as though a lot more action happened in Gemma’s POV, but Lyra had an equal amount as well. It’s just that Gemma had a first hand account to learning what happened before Lyra did, I guess that’s another reason why I enjoyed her POV a bit more.

Lyra was funny! Her straightforwardness was actually really entertaining, and I couldn’t get enough of it. I really enjoyed seeing Haven from her eyes and her bookish personality even more!

And Pete! He’s so accepting of Gemma, and can talk a mile a minute! I loved this dude, he was da bomb, haha! πŸ˜‚

I had mixed feelings for 72 and Jake. When they both realize the truth about both girls (72 towards the end, Jake near the middle) they both got scared and wouldn’t look at Gemma nor Lyra. That was the only thing that really irked me, but they both got resolved.

April was straight up hilarious! I loved her bubbly personality, and I could see that she is a great friend towards Gemma. And plus her energy and drive is contagious.

Overall, this book did not disappoint! I hope y’all will give it a try sometime!

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟.5

More: If you want more of Lauren Oliver, then visit her here! Also one of her books, Before I Fall, will soon be a movie! Check that out too! If you liked this post and want more like it, then please hit that Follow button and Like this post below! I’ll swing back again sometime later!!

Follow Me

TwitterΒ andΒ Goodreads

22 thoughts on “Review: Replica

Add yours

  1. Glad to see you enjoyed this! I agreed with most of what you said; I enjoyed Gemma’s side just a bit more than Lyra’s, but both were interesting. I especially agreed with your analysis of the guys in the story, and why Pete was your favorite of them; he was so accepting, I thought, ‘okay, you’re one of my favorites.’ And April was also a great friend. And yes, I love how this book had a little bit of everything too!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Okay, so Delirium was my favourite book of hers at around 4.5 stars, and the other two books in the trilogy I believe I rated 3 stars. Panic was just a mess, thus being a 2 star read, and Before I Fall was okay, so I rated it 3.5 stars. I’m hoping I really like Replica, though, but I don’t have the highest expectations!☺️

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I hope you like it too! I wanted to read Before I Fall, but I heard it’s just okay, like you said. I still might read it though, I like the concept. I’m not sure on Delirium series yet, I looked into it but wasn’t sure it was good or not. I’ll see if I can give the first book a try. I liked you feedback on the books!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I know this isn’t my thread, but I wanted to offer my two cents; I’ve read Before I Fall, and although on reread it wasn’t as good (kinda cheesy to be honest), I like Oliver’s writing style. It’s so descriptive, especially with backgrounds and scenery, I can almost see it. I’ve only read the first Delirium book, and I enjoyed it, but it took me a while to get into. Vanishing Girls was the opposite of Before I Fall for me; I didn’t like it the first time I read it; the plot twist seemed to come out of the blue. But after I read the Dr. Frost arc, The Desires of Others, I reread Vanishing Girls and understood it a lot better. Like, the twists weren’t the same, but they were similar enough for me to grasp it better. Sorry for ranting! I just wanted to help.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Thank you!! I’ve been hearing a lot of mixed opinions about Before I Fall, and some very good ones about Delirium. You’re the first to tell me about Vanishing Girls, it’s nice to know that reading Frost helps grasp the concept and twists of the book. πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad to see that you enjoyed this book! I enjoyed it too – I thought the gimmick was interesting (though a bit annoying to read bc I had a digital ARC), but so worth it. I have mixed feelings for 72 and Jake too and I really don’t know how Lauren Oliver will structure the second book. Will it still be dual mirror perspectives of Gemma and Lyra? Will we also get 72’s and Jake’s?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Did you have to turn your device around? The eBook must’ve been hard to read, but I’m glad you liked it! I think Lauren Oliver will continue with Gemma and Lyra’s point of view, but it would be interesting if she added 72’s and Pete’s. I can’t wait for the second book though, I’d like to see how the story continues. πŸ˜„

      Like

      1. GOD YES. I had a NetGalley ARC, so when I first started I went through the whole book and bookmarked all the chapters so I could jump to them when I need to, haha. It took a bit of effort, but it was actually kind of fun because it’s quite different. πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

