Blog How To’s: ARCs

 :
PICOLLAGE

I’m the most unqualified person for this, to be honest.

Hey!

Blog How To’s are my way of interacting with new bloggers and giving them a shove towards success! Or in my case, a better understanding of the wonderful world online. πŸ˜€

Today’s topic is…

ARCs!

HOW DO I GET THEM?

Well, there are many ways to acquire Review Copies, or ARCs (Advanced Reader’s Copies). You can simply write out your own personal email to a publisher. (I’ll get how to write to them in a bit.) Many won’t respond back, but I hear that some do. Other ways to get review copies are through Netgalley and Edelweiss.

Now I hear that Netgalleys are extremely helpful, but before you start up an account check out their Privacy Policy. However, I’m still unsure if you have to be at least 18 to sign up, because when it asks for your birthday the most recent year they have is 1998. Someone, correct me in the comments if I’m wrong about the age limit.

Edelweiss doesn’t seem to have an age policy, but the layout of the site may be confusing. So I’ve found a nice little site to help you get ARCs on there. πŸ™‚

The site that I currently use is Edelweiss, but so far I’ve hadn’t gotten any approved review copies. If this happens to you, keep trying! Even if a publisher says no to you, try another book and hopefully you’ll get one!

HOW TO EMAIL

Now your email to a publisher should contain your stats. A few to include:

  • Followers
  • Email Followers
  • Average Monthly/Weekly Visitors
  • Average Monthly/Weekly Views
  • Other Social Media Accounts + Follower Count
  • Email/Contact Info
  • Address
  • Review Policy Link

I recommend making a Review Policy if you already haven’t.

Also, include some book details:

  • Title
  • Author
  • ISBN
  • Publishing Date

And include reasons as to why you are interested in a review copy of the book. Remember, you are trying to convince them how you can help THEM. You are trying to promote their product. So include some sites that you’re willing to write your review on.

Also greet them. If I was them, I’d not want an inbox full of demanding emails. So simply exchange a “Hello” and introduce yourself and your blog. Keep it interesting while being you.

I still need to work on my people skills, but I hope this works out for you!

WHAT TO DO IF I DON’T GET AN ARC?

Oh hon, I feel ya.

I’m still mastering this. *Assuring head nod*

What you otta do: Smile!

Even if you don’t get a copy, you can still keep trying to get others by that publisher. Some of them don’t give you any, and that’s fine. Publishers don’t hate you…

Image result for why do you hate me gif

Sometimes ARCs aren’t available anymore or they have another site in mind for reviews. If that’s the case, then think of ways to expand your blog. Go on the Reader and find some new blogging buddies! Create new posts that people will love!

WHAT DO I DO WITH ARCs?

E-copies you can keep. Those are fine to save.

Hard copies can be kept too. Don’t sell them, that gives a publisher the wrong idea. I hear that some libraries accept ARCs, of course wait until after the book is published. Also you can share copies to bloggers!

Some Blog Tours ask for their ARCs back. Be sure to check on which blogs that do it. (I have no idea about those who want them back, I’m sorry.)

PUBLISHERS

Simon Pulse: ChildrensPublicity@SimonandSchuster.com

HarperCollins: cindy.hamilton@harpercollins.com

PenguinTeen: Fill out form then request form

Disney Hyperion: dpw.publicity@disney.com

Entangled Teen: Mailing List

REVIEW POLICY

A review policy lets the publishers know that you take ARCs and are able to review them. It should include the following:

  • Do you follow FTC?
  • Genres you like
  • What review will contain
  • When you can post the review
  • Where you’re willing to post review
  • Include what you do with ARCs or Review copies after
  • Age group you take
  • Type of review copies, print or digital
  • Rating
  • Contact

You can most certainly look at mine as a reference.

BLOG TOURS

These are a great way to review copies of books before they’re published. You can also do Author Interviews, Blitzes, and Giveaways.

Some worth checking out:

If you think I left anything out, check these awesome blogs that can also help you:

The BlueStocking Society

Words We Heart

RiverMoose-Reads

Small Review


 Follow Me On

Twitter and Goodreads

10 thoughts on “Blog How To’s: ARCs

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

