Series Review- Falling Kingdoms


(Goodreads for all books)

Rebel SpringThe road to power… is paved with blood and magic.

Cleo is now a prisoner in her own palace, forced to be an ambassador for Mytica as the evil King Gaius lies to her people.
Magnus stands to eventually inherit the new kingdom but is still obsessed with his feelings for his adopted sister, Lucia.
Lucia is haunted by the outcome of the breathtaking display of magic that allowed her father to capture the kingdoms.
Jonas watched at the palace gates a troop of rebels behind him, waiting for him to tell them how he plans to overtake King Gaius.

After a bloody siege, Auranos has been defeated, its young queen orphaned and dethroned. The three kingdoms—Auranos, Limeros, and Paelsia—are now unwillingly united as one country called Mytica. But the allure of ancient, dangerous magic beckons still, and with it the chance to rule not just Mytica, but the whole world over…

At the heart of the fray are four brave young people grappling for that magic and the power it promises. For Cleo, the magic would enable her to reclaim her royal seat. In Jonas’s hands, it frees his nation, and in Lucia’s, it fulfills the ancient prophecy of her destiny. And if the magic were Magnus’s, he would finally prove his worth in the eyes of his cruel and scheming father, King Gaius, who rules Mytica with a punishing hand.

When Gaius begins to build a road into the Forbidden Mountains to physically link all of Mytica, he sparks a long-smoking fire in the hearts of the people that will forever change the face of this land. For Gaius’s road is paved with blood, and its construction will have cosmic consequences.

Gathering Darkness: Prince Magnus has just witnessed torture, death, and miracles during the bloody confrontation that decimated the rebel forces. Now he must choose between family and justice as his father, the cruel King Gaius, sets out to conquer all of Mytica. All Gaius needs now are the Kindred – the four elemental crystals that give godlike powers to their owner. But the King of Blood is not the only one hunting for this ancient, storied magic…

• THE KRAESHIANS join the hunt. Ashur and Amara, the royal siblings from the wealthy kingdom across the Silver Sea, charm and manipulate their way to the Kindred, proving to be more ruthless than perhaps even the King of Blood himself.

• THE REBELS forge ahead. Princess Cleo and vengeful Jonas lead them, slaying with sweetness, skill, and a secret that can control Lucia’s overpowering magic – all so they can use the Kindred to win back their fallen kingdoms.

• THE WATCHERS follow Melenia out of the Sanctuary. They ally in the flesh with King Gaius, who vows to use Lucia’s powers to unveil the Kindred.

The only certainty in the dark times is that whoever finds the magic first will control the fate of Mytica… but fate can be fickle when magic is involved.

Frozen TidesCLEO: Reeling after a bloody showdown in Limeros ending with Amara’s abduction of the water crystal, and a vacancy in the Mytican throne, Princess Cleo must cast aside her feelings and look toward her kingdom with the eyes of a Queen.

MAGNUS: With the kingdom in chaos, Princess Lucia still missing and quite possibly in danger, and a shocking realization about Cleo, the steely prince is once again torn between love and duty, leaving him wondering whether he’s strong enough to rule his people.

LUCIA: The young sorcercess has had her vengeance after the cruel death of her first and only love. Heartbroken and unable to trust anyone, she allies with the awoken Fire god, who also seeks revenge.

JONAS: After escaping death by the skin of his teeth, the defeated rebel—along with a mysterious stranger–leader reunites with Princess Cleo, only to find himself a mere pawn in a dangerous hunt for the elusive Kindred.

KING GAIUS: Abandoned by Melenia and betrayed by his own children, Gaius flees Mytica and sails to Kraeshia, where he attempts to ally with the famously brutal emperor across the Silver Sea.

Overall Series Review: Lots of twists and turns here. In Rebel Spring, the characters are separate in their goals. They each want the Kindred for reasons that are selfish or non-selfish, and they are all feuding and fighting to get their hands on them. In Gathering Darkness, a lot of stuff starts to throw down. This book, personally, was my least favorite so far because all of the death and drama seemed a bit too much. I’m fine with those who died in this book, but it just seemed a bit uncalled for. (I was in a book slump when I was reading this.) In Frozen Tides, things started to get better. The characters now have a common goal and are willing to work together, however their are still betrayals and deceit going on. Which I’m fine with, it was rather amusing. This book was my favorite in the series because this had the most change with characters’ internal conflicts.

Now to rant and vent. I was not a supporter of the Cleo-Magnus ship at first. I wanted it to be Cleo-Jonas, but now I have seen the light and I much prefer the Cleo-Magnus ship. I did have a little problem with the love stories being fast and quick to end. All the characters seemed a bit fast with love, they fall in love with each other after a few chapters of being together and bada-bing bada-boom their dead the next chapter. It kind of ruined the moment. Also some of the characters were a bit annoying, like Lucia. She takes pleasure in killing people and she turned a bit power hungry, which drove me crazy. She’s changed a lot now, and I’m starting to like her. It’s a slow process. Cleo still remains to be my favorite character. She is very cunning and full of surprises. She also has a good mind and a good heart.

The world building and writing was great! I highly enjoyed this series, I like a lot of high fantasy and this series was just great. Other than the deaths and love stories being fast, I had no other problems with this series. I loved how the characters grew throughout the books, and I loved their sassiness. I don’t know why, but I started shipping Aelin Galathynius from ToG with Felix from Gathering Darkness… Don’t hate me! I don’t really know why I started to do that!

Overall, I recommend this to all of you! It’s such a great series. 😀

More: Yay! If you are interested in reading these books, go check out Morgan Rhodes here! I hope you all liked this post, and if you did then click that Like button and/or Follow me. I’ll swing back again later, bye!



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: