Graceling

3236307

Graceling: Katsa, the niece of the king of Middluns, is one of the Graced. Those who have a Grace serve the king of their country in any way they can, and since Katsa’s Grace is killing she’s used as her uncle’s assassin. But killing isn’t all she does, she’s much more then the monster her uncle makes her out to be. The Council was originally her idea and through them she can help people, like the Lienid Prince she rescued from Murgon. Though, it seems she’s not the only one interested in his safety. When she meets Prince Po, Prince Tealiff’s grandson, she learns of a bigger plan for Tealiff’s imprisonment and she finds herself making a new friend.

Review: Let me jut say, it took a LOT of warming up to this book. Afterward, I loved it. At first I was like “this is really awesome, Katsa is like Mulan!” (Yes, I thought that at the time.) The character and world building was great, but I guess my attention towards the book was shaky. (When I step away from a book my opinion is always fickle, but when I’m reading it I instantly love it; its odd, I have no idea what’s wrong with me.) (Haha.) But after like, chapter 10 or so I was entrapped in the story altogether. I rated it 4/5 stars on Goodreads, I think that’s a decent rating. The writing was very detailed, but a bit boring on some parts — I’m not complaining, its just a thought. Overall, I think its a good book to try out if you like books that have castles, and monarchs, and all that jazz (which I love!).

More: Yay, I can finally catch my breath. Okay, I’m gonna go all commanding and make you Like this post and Follow my blog. (Side affects may include: uncontrollable happiness, fuzzy feelings, a fangirlish attitude, a love of reading, and more happiness ☺) Click here to check out Kristen Cashore’s site, and stay tuned for more posts!

6 thoughts on “Graceling

Add yours

  1. This book is on my DNF but still want to revisit post I wrote today. I liked it in the beginning but I agree the writing was a bit boring and dense at times. The concept was cool but some parts were confusing with the different kingdoms. I’m hoping by the end of the year I’ll read it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you agree 🙂 The kingdoms were confusing for me too, I had to look back a few times to remind myself which king belonged where. I hope you find yourself enjoying the book if you finish it!

      Like

    1. I haven’t read Defy (but I might soon it looks good), but you’re right they aren’t the same. Yes, they have woman fighters, but other than that the plots are both different. Though if you chose to read Graceling anytime soon I hope you like it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

